American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
Friday, August 2
A real dinner at last!
This morning we woke up to mist on the lake. It was really early before we left and we couldn't see anything around us. As we started hiking higher in elevation, the clouds began to burn it looked very mystical. We gained 2300 feet in the day, and we got the top of the Ptarmigan Tunnel there stone wall created in the late 1930s that was still there.

As we still climbed higher, our guide told us stories of how the last time he was in the tunnel he saw a bear. It scared us all....

We are all the immune to DEET.
We met tons of people on the trail. Most of whom gave us food, since we miscalculated how much food we would need. This was a shakedown hike to figure out what we really needed.

Coming down into the Many Glaciers Campground we hiked through again, tons of wildflowers along the Ptarmigan Falls and Ptarmigan Creek.
We passed multiple day users hiking up to the tunnel and back or creek.

We were met by Charlie and Stephen and a real dinner. We get to see all the others team members (Paul, Ravi, and Stephen) tomorrow and head out on a 13-mile hike with day packs. We are looking forward to a home-cooked feast in Dutch Ovens tommorow night.

-- Rob, Charlotte, Dana and Mike
for Friday, August 2
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
me and GLACIER  on a break
38-year-old Rob Carlo, was born and raised in Queens, one of the five boroughs...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Carlo
Welcome to Yellowstone National Park and Wyoming
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Robert Carlo
Labor Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
SPRING CREEK TO BLAIR LAKE
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
Campfire Friendships
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Robert Carlo
Backpacking Without the Backpacks.
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Carlo
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Carlo
Halfway with Charlie Brown, Penny, Banjo, Foxy, Shiloh and Ben
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Robert Carlo
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Carlo
I want my ATV!
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Robert Carlo
Rattlesnake! Bees!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Carlo
First To Travel on New Continental Divide Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Carlo
No Time To Sleep
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Carlo
Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Carlo
11 Months...
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Robert Carlo
Let's go fishin'
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Carlo
Be careful what you ask for
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
Ptarmigan Trail
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
A real dinner at last!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Robert Carlo
Kickoff events in Washington, DC
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Robert Carlo
My First Journal Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.