American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Saturday, August 3
Sunday, August 3. Apgar Campground 10:00 p.m.

The trekkers joined us in camp tonight, so we had a steak-potato-green beans-pie dinner. Now they have all gone to the laundry and showers, a presentation by the USGS, or to the tech trailer to download digital photos. Bob V. and I cleaned up and just put everything away, but it seems too early to go to bed. Besides, I’m still a bit high from today’s hike from Many Glacier campground via Piegan Pass to Siyah Bend and the Going-to-the-Sun road near Logan Pass.
It was cold most of the hike. When we passed Logan Pass this morning en route to joining the Trek Team the whole top of the mountain was “rimed in”—frost was frozen on trees and flowers. The wind was howling. I spent the entire day in my fleece jacket, gloves, and stocking cap.
Chris, an earth science teacher, is also a professional guide. He led us today, wearing shorts and t-shirt most of the time. A giant of a guy, he has had a variety of practical experiences to go with his University of Montana degree in geography. The hike was through a valley and up the mountain to Piegan Pass, then down to the highway. I was generally satisfied with my hiking performance, although my legs are tired. I could use a hot tub tonight.
We say a variety of wildlife—a moose cow and calf, a herd of elk, a ptarmigan hen with chicks, ground squirrels (Columbian and 13-Stripe, according to Steven), and a marmot. No bears. Chris called to them repeatedly to let them know we were in the area. His calls ranged from “Yo, Boo!” to “Hey, Bo!” The high rainfall makes for a profusion of plants: pine (especially lodgepole), spruce, aspen, huckleberry and thimbleberry, and adler, but the most impressive was the great show of wildflowers. Great stands of beargrass in bloom were frequent—the blossom is a cluster of white stars atop a stalk, something like a yucca). Others I could identify included fireweed (a 2-3’ plant with purple bloom), Indian paintbrush (blossoms ranging from pink to bright orange-red), Queen Anne’s Lace and another plant with similar blossom but much larger and with pumpkin-looking leaves, columbine, bluebells, false helbore (skunk cabbage), elder, mountain ash, spirea, heucera, pale blue asters with yellow centers, and ferns. There were many more, but I do not have names for them.
for Saturday, August 3
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.