American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Tuesday, August 6
The Last Hike
Bob came around 6:30 a.m. Everyone took their time eating and breaking camp. It was about 8:30 before we left. Today's trail was so much easier. We did go uphill a lot, but the trail was very evident and pine-straw covered. I had to stop for breaks often just to breathe. We crested over 9000 feet. We saw the most gorgeous wild flowers--red, orange, purple, blue, and a whole field of black-eyed susans. It was a nice, cool walk and we were done by 11:45. Bob had left two Hondas for us, so we zipped down to the camp where Lori had lunch laid out. I've started writing a rap song for each of the team members. I have two verses so far.
Jan, He's the man
He's the one that always has a plan
His name is Nesset
He's gonna test it
With a GPS in his right hand.

Jake, They call him snake
Whatever you need he can make
Like Rockappella
Sings Acappella
With a voice that is professionally great.

We left Iron creek around 2:30 and headed to Silver City, New Mexico. At last, we get two nights in a motel. I took a very long shower. I already feel the soreness setting in. Around 6:30 we met Stephen and went out to eat. I had steak, baked potato, chicken tortilla soup, and a corn muffin. I was starving after three days of trail food.
for Tuesday, August 6
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Kay Gandy linedancing.

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Friday, October 25
Kay Gandy
Back in the Real World
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Kay Gandy
Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Kay Gandy
Team Joining
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Kay Gandy
The End Is Near
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Kay Gandy
Tree Hugs And Salmon
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Kay Gandy
Dinosaurs
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Kay Gandy
The South Team
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Kay Gandy
ATV Haven
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Kay Gandy
SNOW
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Kay Gandy
The River Crossing
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Kay Gandy
Mountains out of Molehills
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Kay Gandy
Solitude
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Kay Gandy
The Free Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Kay Gandy
Waterfalls
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Kay Gandy
Back in the Routine
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Kay Gandy
Remembering America
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Kay Gandy
Planet of the Apes
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Kay Gandy
Rainbow Bridge and Orange Beach
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Kay Gandy
Paria Plateau
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Kay Gandy
Rivers and Lakes and Rainbows
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Kay Gandy
The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Kay Gandy
The Condors
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Kay Gandy
Trekking with the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Kay Gandy
The Mule Ride
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Kay Gandy
The Grand Canyon Lodge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Kay Gandy
The 14 mile Hike
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Kay Gandy
The School Program
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Kay Gandy
Half-way Party
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Kay Gandy
Lost Glasses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Kay Gandy
The Arizona Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Kay Gandy
Sunrise at the Canyon
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Kay Gandy
Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Kay Gandy
Disappointments
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Kay Gandy
Eldon Pueblo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Kay Gandy
Outback Steaks
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Kay Gandy
Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Kay Gandy
Dancing in the Moonlight
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Kay Gandy
Woods Canyon
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Kay Gandy
Peach Pancakes
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Kay Gandy
Ballad of the Southern Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Kay Gandy
Graduation Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Kay Gandy
Quiet Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Kay Gandy
The ATV Ride
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Kay Gandy
At the Motel
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Kay Gandy
Waiting for the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Kay Gandy
The Cat Walk
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Support Team
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Kay Gandy
The Ballad of the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Kay Gandy
Round Table Discussion
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Kay Gandy
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Kay Gandy
The Nose Rings
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Kay Gandy
The Backpacking Trip
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Kay Gandy
Doing the Laundry
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Kay Gandy
Lake Valley School
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Kay Gandy
Horse Canyon
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
The Trek Begins
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
What was the highlight of your first day on the Trek? (responses from the Southern team)
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.