American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Wednesday, August 7
Saturday, September 7. Laundromat in Lander, WY.

Some 9,000 people attended the opening day of the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002. A large share of the total were elementary school children, ushered through the booths by their teachers. “It’s Wyoming,” explained one teacher. “Kids have to learn hunting and fishing.” Certainly they had plenty of opportunities to do so at the Casper Events Center. Predictably, state and federal agencies like the Forest Service and Wyoming Game and Fish Department were there, and so were special interest groups like the Elk Foundation and Audubon Society and businesses like Crossman and others which serve the sporting public. The Wyoming Geographic Alliance was on the upper concourse with other educational exhibits in an area called “Education Alley.” Luckily, the next booth was vacant, so I set up shop with computer images of the trekkers, a banner which advertised the American Frontiers web site, and 3,000 pencils provided by PLIA, also imprint with the web address.
Most of the children were very interested in hands-on activities in which they could improve their shotgun, rifle, and archery skills or learn fly-tying and fly casting. There were classes on moose, elk, and duck calling, wilderness survival, and bear avoidance. Seminars and demonstrations on a variety of related topics were scheduled all day. Handing out pencils did not generate great enthusiasm in youngsters, so I saved my pitch mostly for teachers and other adults. Generally, they were very receptive. I was mildly surprised that so few had heard about the trek. In the next booth, Sherry and the two alliance coordinators, geography professors Ron Beiswenger and Bill Gribb, were having the times of their lives asking droves of children geography questions in exchange for Frisbees, inflatable globes, stick-on tattoos, and other literature and paraphernalia.
The Wildlife Heritage Foundation of Wyoming sponsored an “Appreciation Barbeque” in the evening, and Sherry wrangled a ticket for me. “Everybody knows everybody here,” she said. “It was easy.” I suggested that my camping clothes might not be appropriate for the event. She laughed. “You’ll see everything there.” Sure enough, the attire selected for the dinner ran the gamut from relatively formal to very informal. Governor Jim Geringer, who sat at the next table, was one of only a few people wearing a tie, but he wore a colored sport shirt with it and no jacket. There were plenty of jeans, boots, cowboy shirts and hats on both men and women (I was told that the women who wear the flashy cowgirl attire are called “buckle bunnies).
Practically everyone in attendance was a volunteer of one form or another, and they were all formally recognized. The governor received several standing ovations for his contributions, and so did wildlife biologist Kevin Hurley, now on the mend from a near-fatal airplane crash which occurred while he was counting antelope. Then the governor and Dave Lockman of the State Game and Fish Department received “Expo” jackets to another standing O. The board of directors got a standing O, and so did several other groups. Obviously, it was a very receptive crowd of probably 400-500 people, pleased that their project was so successful and more than willing to share their good feelings with applause and pats on the back. The raffle and door prizes took nearly an hour to distribute, and nobody left. I had been told Wyoming people were like one big family, and this gathering gave me the opportunity to appreciate the feeling of togetherness and cooperation.
For me, it was a successful day. I made contact with hundreds of teachers and other adults and more than a thousand school children. Most had not heard of the Public Lands Journey, so our contact was their introduction to the project. I also had the opportunity to make several telephone calls during the trip, one of them to the National Council for Geographic Education. I suggested that the NCGE contact all the state alliances with the request that the American Frontiers web address be hot linked on the alliance websites.
for Wednesday, August 7
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.