American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Saturday, August 10
Dear America,

Field report, August 10th--day 11 of our trek. I'm sitting in a meadow right now with a horse about ten feet from me, his bell ringing as he chomps on grass. We had about a 15 mile ride today over a high pass above the treeline and then down through some park-like meadows. The scenery is grand as always and I'm really enjoying my time in the Bob Marshall wilderness.

Yesterday was an exciting day because we got to take fly fishing lessons from Randy. I caught seven fish, the most I've ever caught in a single day, including my trip to Safeway. The water here is the cleanest and purest I've ever seen. One unusual thing about fishing here is that they have a maximum size limit instead of a minimum; you're not allowed to keep anything larger than 12 inches. This is to preserve the breeding stock of the western cutthroat trout, a strikingly colored fish that might easily be put at risk if too many of the largest were taken.

Randy, by the way, is not only an excellent fisherman but also the hero of the day. It seems that Wayne, our National Geographic cameraman, lost his tripod somewhere along the way and Randy backtracked for two miles until he found it beside the trail. Without that item there could be no video record of our next four days in this spectacular wilderness.

Right now my tent is surrounded by two mules and two horses and if one of them steps any closer I'll be sleeping outdoors for the rest of the trip. I better go shoo them away. Check back in when you can.
for Saturday, August 10
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Camping, Lewis & Clark style: Mike Murphy gets cozy in his buffalo robe near Clark Canyon Reservoir
Mike Murphy is a 48 year-old school teacher at Gettysburg Elementary. He works...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, January 22
Michael Murphy
Slide shows
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 15
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Michael Murphy
"It's Over."
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Michael Murphy
Joining Ceremony
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Michael Murphy
Last Backpack
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Michael Murphy
OIL & GAS SHOWCASE
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Michael Murphy
SURPRISE VISITOR
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Michael Murphy
Goodbye to Chris Pipkin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Michael Murphy
Wild Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Michael Murphy
Great Hosts
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Michael Murphy
Mines
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Michael Murphy
Trumpeter Swans
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michael Murphy
Bald Eagles & Fossils
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michael Murphy
Canoe
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Michael Murphy
Scaler Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michael Murphy
Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michael Murphy
TRAM
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Michael Murphy
Mountain Man
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Michael Murphy
Cliff Creek Falls
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Michael Murphy
Event Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michael Murphy
GPS saves the day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michael Murphy
Still raining
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Michael Murphy
Rain
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michael Murphy
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michael Murphy
Old Faithful
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Michael Murphy
Backpacking again
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Michael Murphy
River System
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michael Murphy
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Michael Murphy
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michael Murphy
Halfway
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Michael Murphy
Long Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
Buffalo Robe
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
ATV
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michael Murphy
No Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michael Murphy
Thanks to a student
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Michael Murphy
An easy day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michael Murphy
Students inspire teacher
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
More Horses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
Day 21
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michael Murphy
Back in the saddle
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michael Murphy
My brother shows up.
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 15
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 14. Tuesday, August 13. 12-14 miles.
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 13. Monday, August 12
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Michael Murphy
August 11
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Michael Murphy
Latest Update
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Michael Murphy
First six days
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Michael Murphy
Geology in Action
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Michael Murphy
First Journal Entry
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.