American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
Monday, August 12
Take A Deep Breath
We start the day with a short drive to meet the forest ranger who will give us some details on our “short” 8 mile mountainous hike. It starts in a meadow of incredible lavender flowers, flowing into an almost dry creek bed, then up, up, up. Sneak a peek of the wonder of where we were perched from where we are now. I go very slowly even when Jan, Julie and Richard are like elk and deer. It takes twice as long with trying to pace myself. I study the wonder of the alligator juniper in my slowness. It’s bark is soot colored alligator patterned skin, its branches as squirming snakes frozen like stone in its dance in mid air covered in jade green fuzzy moss. One tilts over looking like I feel and it rests on its stone snake arms. I am very tired, feeling very frustrated, breathing is very difficult. Jan stays behind. I ask him to tell me real life adventure stories from his past life to take my mind off the sinking feeling. Finally a bronchiole spasm or exercise induced asthma hits and I can’t go on. In frustration I smack the earth with my hiking stick, not sure who I am angry with, me or the mountain. After sitting awhile and drinking Gatorade provided by Julie and Richard, I slowly make my way for the Hondas waiting for our return. I wanted my “want to” to carry me through. I can’t always. I will make the best of it using this time to write my journal entries as Kay takes my place on the ATV trail. I know she will have a ball and have many stories to tell.

for Monday, August 12
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
A new look for the teachers lounge: Cathy K gets suited up to go riding the dual-sport motorcycles.
Cathy is a Homebound Teacher for students in grades Kindergarten through 12,...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Sunday, January 5
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 8
Catherine Kiffe
More Students Ask Questions
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, December 3
Catherine Kiffe
Student's Letter
   >> more...

•
Monday, November 25
Catherine Kiffe
Gifts from Long Ago
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 10
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 3
Catherine Kiffe
Using the Pictures
   >> more...

•
Friday, October 18
Catherine Kiffe
Rush, rush, rush
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, October 9
Catherine Kiffe
Home Again
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Catherine Kiffe
Together Again
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Catherine Kiffe
Packing Up
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Catherine Kiffe
Across Strawberry Reservoir
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Dinosaurs (or what’s left!)
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Catherine Kiffe
Accident
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Catherine Kiffe
Another Glorious Day on the trail.
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable---a place to learn
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Catherine Kiffe
A thrilling ride!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Catherine Kiffe
Fishlake National Forest
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Catherine Kiffe
Come for a 4 Wheel Drive
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Swirls
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Invasive Weeds
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Catherine Kiffe
I Love This Land
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Catherine Kiffe
Memorial Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Catherine Kiffe
Special Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Catherine Kiffe
How We Connect
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Bill then hee,hee, hee
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Catherine Kiffe
Wilderness Explained
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Catherine Kiffe
A River Ride and Dam View
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Catherine Kiffe
Headlamps
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Catherine Kiffe
What's Roaring?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Catherine Kiffe
The River
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Catherine Kiffe
Beginning the Walk Down
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Catherine Kiffe
Watch that Step
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Catherine Kiffe
Passion and Information
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Catherine Kiffe
" Listen to All"
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Catherine Kiffe
Trees, more or less?
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Catherine Kiffe
Dirt and Treasure and Sharing
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Catherine Kiffe
Be ready to change
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Biscuits
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Another Short Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Catherine Kiffe
A Short Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
Questions
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
A Great Day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Catherine Kiffe
A Scorched Land
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Catherine Kiffe
What? 30 miles??? Yes!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Catherine Kiffe
I Like It!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Catherine Kiffe
Life changing
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Day "off"
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Step Back In Time
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
Take A Deep Breath
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
A Little Bit of Water
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Catherine Kiffe
A Different Look At Burned Areas
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Catherine Kiffe
Take a Leap
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Catherine Kiffe
Delightful Things
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Catherine Kiffe
Not a Buggy Ride
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Ready for "hosses"
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Catherine Kiffe
"Bag a Peak" and Fight with a Bush!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Catherine Kiffe
Busy, busy!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Catherine Kiffe
Third Day of the Trek
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Catherine Kiffe
4 Wheeling
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 30
Catherine Kiffe
Kickoff Events in DC
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Catherine Kiffe
First day...
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, May 1
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
More Student Questions
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.