American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Stephen Braunlich
Monday, August 12
Welcome to Aspen Grove
View
Trekkers at Aspen Grove Campground with Bonnie Rusk, Flathead National Forest

Trekkers at Aspen Grove Campground with Bonnie Rusk, Flathead National Forest

We moved from the West Glacier KOA to a Forest Service campsite; Aspen Grove. Like every Forest Service campsite thus far, it is gorgeous. To the south, we are against some low hills and a shallow, soothing, stream. To the north, in the far distance there are more hills of the same time, and to the east and west lay long flatlands. This affords us views that let Montana live up to its name: "The Big Sky State"
The show here starts at sundown, though, when the evening sky fills in shades of orange, red, and to the east, darker purples and blues. As the sun sets, the stars start to appear. In an odd twist of luck, moonrise is just to south of the sunset, an ivory crescent rises among this sea of color.
As it grows darker, more and more stars come out. With the clear sky and little light pollution, I can see millions of stars, constellations, and the Milky Way galaxy. My soul fills with joy as the immensity of Creation makes itself known.
Then the special treat for the evening. As the night goes on, I can start to see shooting stars from the Perseid Meteor Shower, and I am in awe. As it gets cold, I head to bed. But in the morning I am awoken by the sun filling the horizon.
As you can see, this is a special campsite, and I look forward to staying here for one or two nights.
for Monday, August 12
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Stephen Braunlich
Braunlich sports the latest look in bear collar technology

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 12
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Stephen Braunlich
Easy Day in Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Stephen Braunlich
First Day in Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Stephen Braunlich
Long Hard Hike
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Stephen Braunlich
More of the same...
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Stephen Braunlich
Bit o' Heaven
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Stephen Braunlich
Humbug Spires
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Stephen Braunlich
A Pockmark on Progress
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Stephen Braunlich
Many Thanks
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Stephen Braunlich
Bushwacking
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Stephen Braunlich
Welcome to Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Stephen Braunlich
First Posting
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 9
Stephen Braunlich
Targhee Creek Continued
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.