American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Stephen Braunlich
Tuesday, August 13
Bushwacking
Today I decided to go for a small hike. Like I recorded in previous entries, there is a small wooded hill next to our campsite. This is separated from us by a small stream. What I did for my hike was to cross the stream and then bushwack my way up to the top of the hill. It was fairly steep, and the soil was not very stable beneath my feet. However, I made it up to the top, and was rewarded with glimpses of the valley between the trees.
Along the way, I passed, several times, a trail and an old logging road. These had clearly fallen into disrepair, but it was interesting to see the forest growing back over them.
For me, this showed the ability of man to tap the resources we have, and for those to come back. While I realize that there are limits to the extent, it does prove that we can tap our resources without disastrous consequences.
Peace out,
Stephen
for Tuesday, August 13
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Stephen Braunlich
Braunlich sports the latest look in bear collar technology

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 12
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Stephen Braunlich
Easy Day in Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Stephen Braunlich
First Day in Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Stephen Braunlich
Long Hard Hike
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Stephen Braunlich
More of the same...
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Stephen Braunlich
Bit o' Heaven
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Stephen Braunlich
Humbug Spires
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Stephen Braunlich
A Pockmark on Progress
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Stephen Braunlich
Many Thanks
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Stephen Braunlich
Bushwacking
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Stephen Braunlich
Welcome to Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Stephen Braunlich
First Posting
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Stephen Braunlich
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 9
Stephen Braunlich
Targhee Creek Continued
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.