American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Wednesday, August 14
Field Report, Day 15
Dear America:

Today is a sad day. It is our last day with Jack and crew on our 8-day excursion in the Bob. The outfitters have been fantastic. They are better than my wildest expectations.

We ascend from our tight little camp up to the ridge at the continental divide to complete our time on horses. Our goal is Alice Creek to drop off the mules and cooks and to pick up Martie, our ranger, who will guide us on our cross-country portion.

Our last lunch together is spent high atop a peak along the divide. We take lots of group photos to extend our memories of these wonderful people. At Alice Creek we say our farewells and give the crew each a bandana and pin to make them part of the trek crew. Jack, Randy, and RaeAnnís husband Rob guide us up to the Lewis and Clark pass where we meet the clouds that have been blowing through our ears. The six miles from Alice Creek to where we are dropped off to continue on foot is miserable, weather wise. At one point we canít find the trail because of the low clouds and blowing rain. Jack and Randy guide us through. Weíve now traveled 18 miles by horse today.

After switching from cowboy boots to hiking boots we descend a steep meadow where we enter the forest and start up. We are not traveling on trail and the going is tough. At the top we again hike through a meadow and then down again through a ravine. The mountain in front of us is 600 feet high and must be climbed without a trail. Oh! Did I mention it is getting dark? By the time we are halfway up the forested mountainside it is very dark. The half moon, intermittently covered by clouds, is a help so we struggle on. Eventually we reach the top and are able to walk along a ridgeline covered by meadow, our first easy walk in over two hours. We work our way up the ridge to the continental divide trail and proceed down to where the support vehicles are waiting. Fate intervenes again and we lose the trail in the dark. I use the satellite phone to call Bob and Charlie to have them come up the trail and find us. Safety is your most important call. Our headlamps donít cast a beam bright enough to distinguish trail from rock. Most of the open ridge areas are strewn with ancient rocks and the trails are hard to find in the daytime.

Rob and Charlotte scout ahead to find the next stone cairn while Dana, Martie, and I wait at the previous one as a safe return point, if needed. Using this method we leapfrog down the trail. Bob V. and Charlie meet us about a mile from the trailhead. I have another successful day traveling on public lands. My day started at 6 am and ended at 3 am the following day. This was a grand adventure.
for Wednesday, August 14
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Camping, Lewis & Clark style: Mike Murphy gets cozy in his buffalo robe near Clark Canyon Reservoir
Mike Murphy is a 48 year-old school teacher at Gettysburg Elementary. He works...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, January 22
Michael Murphy
Slide shows
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 15
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Michael Murphy
"It's Over."
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Michael Murphy
Joining Ceremony
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Michael Murphy
Last Backpack
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Michael Murphy
OIL & GAS SHOWCASE
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Michael Murphy
SURPRISE VISITOR
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Michael Murphy
Goodbye to Chris Pipkin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Michael Murphy
Wild Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Michael Murphy
Great Hosts
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Michael Murphy
Mines
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Michael Murphy
Trumpeter Swans
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michael Murphy
Bald Eagles & Fossils
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michael Murphy
Canoe
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Michael Murphy
Scaler Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michael Murphy
Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michael Murphy
TRAM
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Michael Murphy
Mountain Man
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Michael Murphy
Cliff Creek Falls
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Michael Murphy
Event Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michael Murphy
GPS saves the day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michael Murphy
Still raining
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Michael Murphy
Rain
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michael Murphy
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michael Murphy
Old Faithful
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Michael Murphy
Backpacking again
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Michael Murphy
River System
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michael Murphy
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Michael Murphy
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michael Murphy
Halfway
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Michael Murphy
Long Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
Buffalo Robe
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
ATV
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michael Murphy
No Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michael Murphy
Thanks to a student
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Michael Murphy
An easy day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michael Murphy
Students inspire teacher
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
More Horses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
Day 21
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michael Murphy
Back in the saddle
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michael Murphy
My brother shows up.
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 15
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 14. Tuesday, August 13. 12-14 miles.
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 13. Monday, August 12
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Michael Murphy
August 11
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Michael Murphy
Latest Update
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Michael Murphy
First six days
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Michael Murphy
Geology in Action
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Michael Murphy
First Journal Entry
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.