American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
Saturday, August 17
View
Doctor Gupta and the trekkers proceed on.

Doctor Gupta and the trekkers proceed on.
Courtesy Rob Carlo

View
Rob Carlo climbs the border to stay on public lands.

Rob Carlo climbs the border to stay on public lands.
Courtesy Dana Bell

We started with a drive following Assistant District Ranger Kurt. The day was spent hiking about 10 miles. We hiked through open meadows and along many private and public land borders. We actually came to sections where we climbed fences to stay on public lands, all national forest lands. We skirted private land all day and it was a lot of fun. It’s amazing how when we were in the Bob Marshall Wilderness we had 60-mile widths of public lands and now we were down to climbing fences to stay on public lands. Today was a shorter day compared to days past and was much welcomed. But today, I had more of a sense of our journey because it was the first time I saw this many private land borders. As we walked along the borders, all I could think about was this was public land, and on the other side of the border was private land.
for Saturday, August 17
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
me and GLACIER  on a break
38-year-old Rob Carlo, was born and raised in Queens, one of the five boroughs...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Carlo
Welcome to Yellowstone National Park and Wyoming
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Robert Carlo
Labor Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
SPRING CREEK TO BLAIR LAKE
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
Campfire Friendships
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Robert Carlo
Backpacking Without the Backpacks.
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Carlo
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Carlo
Halfway with Charlie Brown, Penny, Banjo, Foxy, Shiloh and Ben
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Robert Carlo
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Carlo
I want my ATV!
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Robert Carlo
Rattlesnake! Bees!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Carlo
First To Travel on New Continental Divide Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Carlo
No Time To Sleep
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Carlo
Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Carlo
11 Months...
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Robert Carlo
Let's go fishin'
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Carlo
Be careful what you ask for
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
Ptarmigan Trail
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
A real dinner at last!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Robert Carlo
Kickoff events in Washington, DC
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Robert Carlo
My First Journal Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.