American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Saturday, August 17
Peach Pancakes
As I was sitting on the bluff overlooking the lake and eating peach pancakes this morning, I contemplated how difficult it will be to step back into the real world. I don?t know if I want to ever eat breakfast inside again. The Forest Rangers came at 9:00 and took us on a tour of the Rodeo-Chediski fire that took place here this summer. They said it would be centuries before the forest returned to its original state. We climbed the fire tower and surveyed the fire damage and restoration efforts to seed the ground. In the afternoon some kids from the campground came by. One asked, Is National Geographic open? We did a little program for them and told them about the trek. Jacob had caught a garter snake to show them, which they though was so cool. We gave them inflatable globes from NGS and asked them to share the website with their teachers and friends. Julie cooked tacos for supper. A bunch of us went to town to do laundry, and rented a video at the place nearby. After supper we put a tv/vcr on the table outside, gathered the chairs around, shared a large bowl of popcorn, and watched a movie. We actually felt civilized for awhile. Well, back to the routine tomorrow and on to a new campground. I started the Julie rap.
Julie, we love her truly
But to carry all her bags would take a mulie
for Saturday, August 17
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Kay Gandy linedancing.

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Friday, October 25
Kay Gandy
Back in the Real World
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Kay Gandy
Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Kay Gandy
Team Joining
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Kay Gandy
The End Is Near
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Kay Gandy
Tree Hugs And Salmon
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Kay Gandy
Dinosaurs
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Kay Gandy
The South Team
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Kay Gandy
ATV Haven
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Kay Gandy
SNOW
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Kay Gandy
The River Crossing
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Kay Gandy
Mountains out of Molehills
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Kay Gandy
Solitude
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Kay Gandy
The Free Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Kay Gandy
Waterfalls
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Kay Gandy
Back in the Routine
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Kay Gandy
Remembering America
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Kay Gandy
Planet of the Apes
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Kay Gandy
Rainbow Bridge and Orange Beach
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Kay Gandy
Paria Plateau
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Kay Gandy
Rivers and Lakes and Rainbows
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Kay Gandy
The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Kay Gandy
The Condors
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Kay Gandy
Trekking with the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Kay Gandy
The Mule Ride
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Kay Gandy
The Grand Canyon Lodge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Kay Gandy
The 14 mile Hike
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Kay Gandy
The School Program
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Kay Gandy
Half-way Party
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Kay Gandy
Lost Glasses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Kay Gandy
The Arizona Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Kay Gandy
Sunrise at the Canyon
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Kay Gandy
Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Kay Gandy
Disappointments
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Kay Gandy
Eldon Pueblo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Kay Gandy
Outback Steaks
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Kay Gandy
Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Kay Gandy
Dancing in the Moonlight
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Kay Gandy
Woods Canyon
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Kay Gandy
Peach Pancakes
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Kay Gandy
Ballad of the Southern Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Kay Gandy
Graduation Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Kay Gandy
Quiet Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Kay Gandy
The ATV Ride
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Kay Gandy
At the Motel
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Kay Gandy
Waiting for the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Kay Gandy
The Cat Walk
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Support Team
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Kay Gandy
The Ballad of the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Kay Gandy
Round Table Discussion
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Kay Gandy
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Kay Gandy
The Nose Rings
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Kay Gandy
The Backpacking Trip
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Kay Gandy
Doing the Laundry
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Kay Gandy
Lake Valley School
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Kay Gandy
Horse Canyon
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
The Trek Begins
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
What was the highlight of your first day on the Trek? (responses from the Southern team)
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.