American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
Sunday, August 18
View
Taking a break.

Taking a break.
Courtesy Dana Bell

View
Mike Murphy poses next to a tree felled by lightning.

Mike Murphy poses next to a tree felled by lightning.
Courtesy Rob Carlo

Just a short climb up and over 2 hills and we were at our next location. About 9 miles of hiking and over 1000 feet of elevation gain we ended up near McDonald Pass on the Continental Divide and our forest ranger Jaime got us there with no problems. We saw an old mining cabin with its outhouse nearly intact today in the backcountry. Later on, Kurt gave us a tour of the Charter Oak Mine. It opened around 1916, and was primarily an ore and lead mine. It was used for lead in the 40’s and 50’s, and hasn’t been mined since. Charter Oak was a mill as well, and some of the machinery was still intact. It was almost as though the workers just up and left and we walked in the next day. The forest service now owns the entire site and they are in the process of restoring as much as possible. I personally enjoy seeing and learning as much as I can about the mining life. My grandfather was a coalminer, and started mining when he was 11 years old. Hard work for hard men and boys.
for Sunday, August 18
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
me and GLACIER  on a break
38-year-old Rob Carlo, was born and raised in Queens, one of the five boroughs...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Carlo
Welcome to Yellowstone National Park and Wyoming
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Robert Carlo
Labor Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
SPRING CREEK TO BLAIR LAKE
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
Campfire Friendships
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Robert Carlo
Backpacking Without the Backpacks.
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Carlo
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Carlo
Halfway with Charlie Brown, Penny, Banjo, Foxy, Shiloh and Ben
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Robert Carlo
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Carlo
I want my ATV!
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Robert Carlo
Rattlesnake! Bees!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Carlo
First To Travel on New Continental Divide Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Carlo
No Time To Sleep
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Carlo
Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Carlo
11 Months...
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Robert Carlo
Let's go fishin'
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Carlo
Be careful what you ask for
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
Ptarmigan Trail
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
A real dinner at last!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Robert Carlo
Kickoff events in Washington, DC
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Robert Carlo
My First Journal Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.