American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Tuesday, August 20
Tuesday, August 20. 9:40 a.m. Primitive camp at Jerrico Creek, W. of Helena.

Dave, Charlie, and the Forest Service guide had to scramble to alter today’s itinerary. Dave’s scouting revealed that a bridge was out on the projected first part of the trip, which was to have been via Honda shuttle over a particularly rough road. In order to stay on public land, a new route was quickly devised, necessitating a different car route and the addition of some “bushwhacking” (cutting across country) by the trekkers. They set off at about 8:30.
Meanwhile, camp has been broken and the trailers packed, but we must now await the return of Charlie and Paul, the shuttle drivers. There is nothing new in being ready to go then standing around until the decision to leave is finally made. Our routine has improved somewhat recently in that we are consciously trying to build in spare time on moving days—and lately, they have all been moving days. But todays’ delay is understandable, so the Support Team members dig into their packs for books to read or journals to update.
I enjoyed listening to John Cargill’s stories about his outfitting career as we sat around with coffee after supper yesterday. He doesn’t hunt much anymore, he said, because he is usually too busy with clients who hike, fish, and hunt elk, whitetail deer, mule deer, antelope, and bear—either leading the party or performing taxidermy work for the successful hunters. He takes great pride in his excellent record as a guide and in his concern for the natural environment. For example, he insists that clients shoot only five-point (or more) elk. “The young ones are my future,” he explained. Hunting trips start at his home and guest lodge, the Iron Wheel Guest Ranch, and are conducted on one of several large tracts of leased land. The largest is some 40 square miles. “That’s a lot of land,” he said. “And my party of six will be the only people there.” His comments included the only criticism about the Forest Service I’ve heard on our trip. Essentially, he objects to the Forest Service’s decisions to close roads which hunters would use. The practice causes too much “clustering” of hunters in areas where roads are open and denies hunters the opportunity to hunt deeper in inaccessible areas.
We had only a short trip yesterday from our previous camp, so most of the Support Team did short hikes. As Charlie has insisted that no one should go anywhere alone, I was expected to wait for him to finish his receipt organizing and record-keeping, then hike with him. He never finished. I was already a bit frustrated in my unsuccessful efforts to set up additional education outreach programs, so I left camp for an exploration of Jerrico Creek. It is a beautiful little mountain stream, tumbling over smooth stones arranged in a narrow and tortuous path. Unlike the several hikes in which I’ve participated, characterized by a pace too fast to really appreciate the details of the landscape, I poked along and enjoyed myself. I took my time setting up photographs of the tiny waterfalls set against the deep green forest, penetrated occasionally by slanting sun rays. The undergrowth that caught the sun’s attention responded with a brighter green, and the water was a tumbling light show. For a few hours, Jerrico Creek was all mine.
for Tuesday, August 20
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.