American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Tuesday, August 20
More Horses
Dear America:

Field Report, Day 16

We left Jack and the crew behind but not the horses. We are to proceed on with Joe a different outfitter to ride 20 miles today. Jack did show up at camp to see if we were still alive. He knew we were in for a long night, the night before, when he dropped us off at 7pm. It was a wonderful gesture on his part. He also gave us Rich Ranch t-shirts.

It was a dark and stormy night. Well, it was dark. Yes, we must like traveling in the dark because we didn’t arrive into camp until 9:30 pm. It was another long day on the back of the horse. I hope my knees will forgive me. I would like to thank Dave and Phyllis at Armstrong Stables, for the lessons before the Trek. Without them I could not survive long hours in the saddle. The ride was long a hard with many twists and turns in the trail. Since we must stay on Public Lands the shortest route is sometimes the one we cannot take.

The Support Group, people I now consider good friends, make us feel right at home. I know our trek would not be possible without all the hard work they do.


Dear America:
Field Report, Day 17

“Snow flurries expected”. Not “Good Morning, would you like a cup of coffee?” Although, the greeting doesn’t seem friendly, it is important. We must always be prepared for the trail and have the right clothes is part of that.

Our 18-mile day started at a reasonable 8:30 and believe it or not ended at 4pm on the same day. We didn’t get snow flurries but the wind blew up to 50mph at some points a long the way. We rode the Continental Divide Trail mostly along the western slope where the winds blew the strongest. At each saddle, a low point, we could get great views to the east. Each time on the east side we were afforded some protection from the wind. After lunch, the winds calmed and we finished the ride in cowboy style, watering our horses at a water trough surrounded by cattle. We actual beat the Support Team to our primitive campsite. It was another good day in America’s public lands.

Dear America:
Field Report, Day 18

Today was different, no horses. We started with an 11-mile drive on dirt roads in the Helena National Forest. The rest of the day we hiked dirt roads, across grasslands and through forests. None of these were trails. We used the maps and GPS units to stay on public lands. At one point we climbed over a fence corner to stay on the alternating sections.

The Forest Service Asst. District Ranger, Kurt Cuneo, also our guide, talked about the land uses of the Helena National Forest. The multiuse include: lumber cutting, cattle grazing leases, hiking and off road vehicles use. Obliviously, some areas are open to certain things and closed to others. A badger crossed the field in front of us while Kurt was talking. I had never seen a badger before.

Since we were able to get into camp early, we were able to use the computers in the Tech Trailer to access email and enter journals on the website. It’s fascinating to see 4 people in a trailer and 2 outside on boxes typing away on computers. I was able to get 4 journal entries ending on the 15th into the website. On a personal note, I was able to read all my email messages and answer all of them. To all of those sending emails, please continue to send the news from home.
for Tuesday, August 20
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Camping, Lewis & Clark style: Mike Murphy gets cozy in his buffalo robe near Clark Canyon Reservoir
Mike Murphy is a 48 year-old school teacher at Gettysburg Elementary. He works...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, January 22
Michael Murphy
Slide shows
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 15
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Michael Murphy
"It's Over."
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Michael Murphy
Joining Ceremony
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Michael Murphy
Last Backpack
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Michael Murphy
OIL & GAS SHOWCASE
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Michael Murphy
SURPRISE VISITOR
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Michael Murphy
Goodbye to Chris Pipkin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Michael Murphy
Wild Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Michael Murphy
Great Hosts
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Michael Murphy
Mines
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Michael Murphy
Trumpeter Swans
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michael Murphy
Bald Eagles & Fossils
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michael Murphy
Canoe
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Michael Murphy
Scaler Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michael Murphy
Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michael Murphy
TRAM
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Michael Murphy
Mountain Man
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Michael Murphy
Cliff Creek Falls
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Michael Murphy
Event Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michael Murphy
GPS saves the day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michael Murphy
Still raining
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Michael Murphy
Rain
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michael Murphy
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michael Murphy
Old Faithful
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Michael Murphy
Backpacking again
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Michael Murphy
River System
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michael Murphy
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Michael Murphy
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michael Murphy
Halfway
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Michael Murphy
Long Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
Buffalo Robe
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
ATV
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michael Murphy
No Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michael Murphy
Thanks to a student
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Michael Murphy
An easy day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michael Murphy
Students inspire teacher
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
More Horses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
Day 21
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michael Murphy
Back in the saddle
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michael Murphy
My brother shows up.
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 15
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 14. Tuesday, August 13. 12-14 miles.
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 13. Monday, August 12
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Michael Murphy
August 11
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Michael Murphy
Latest Update
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Michael Murphy
First six days
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Michael Murphy
Geology in Action
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Michael Murphy
First Journal Entry
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.