American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Friday, August 23
Eldon Pueblo
It was so cold last night. We all usually wake around 5:30 a.m. so itís still cold. Weíre usually in bed by 9:00 p.m. because itís dark and we have long days. At 9:00 a.m. we were taken to Elden Pueblo where we were met again by Peter Pillus the archaeologist who had talked to us about the Battle of Dry Gulch. We stayed there until noon learning about the early Americans who lived there. The amazing thing about this site is that it is open to the public to dig. Of course everything is guided and all artifacts are cataloged and kept by the Forest Service. Some of the team members dug for artifacts. I went over to the fourth grade class there and visited with their teacher. We exchanged some lesson ideas and email addresses. When I go back to my classroom at Riverbend Elementary, I will get my class to penpal with her class. We had a quick lunch, then Jan, Cathy and I went to Thomas Elementary school to present a program about the Trek. About 100 fourth and fifth grades filed excitedly into the library. One of the students said to me, I know you, Iíve seen your picture on the website. The teachers had already prepared the students for our visit, so as I did the PowerPoint and asked questions, they already knew the answers. Jan was a natural with the kids and used great analogies to get them to understand some of the problems we face with the Trek. He used a checkerboard illustration to explain how we cross public/private land corners. He used a $650 million dollar illustration to point out the 650 million acres of public land belong to each and everyone of the students. The principal was as enthusiastic as the students about our visit. We gave him an American Frontiers t-shirt, and the teachers inflatable globes from National Geographic. Jan and Cathy cooked supper in the evening-grilled pork chops with brown sugar and pineapple, mashed potatoes, green beans, and fried biscuits with cinnamon and sugar. I rented a video from the campground office and we all piled in front of the small tv/vcr to watch Indian Jones. The movie started at 7:30. By the time it finished only three people were left watching. Everyone had gone to bed.
for Friday, August 23
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Kay Gandy linedancing.

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Friday, October 25
Kay Gandy
Back in the Real World
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Kay Gandy
Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Kay Gandy
Team Joining
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Kay Gandy
The End Is Near
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Kay Gandy
Tree Hugs And Salmon
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Kay Gandy
Dinosaurs
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Kay Gandy
The South Team
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Kay Gandy
ATV Haven
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Kay Gandy
SNOW
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Kay Gandy
The River Crossing
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Kay Gandy
Mountains out of Molehills
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Kay Gandy
Solitude
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Kay Gandy
The Free Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Kay Gandy
Waterfalls
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Kay Gandy
Back in the Routine
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Kay Gandy
Remembering America
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Kay Gandy
Planet of the Apes
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Kay Gandy
Rainbow Bridge and Orange Beach
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Kay Gandy
Paria Plateau
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Kay Gandy
Rivers and Lakes and Rainbows
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Kay Gandy
The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Kay Gandy
The Condors
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Kay Gandy
Trekking with the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Kay Gandy
The Mule Ride
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Kay Gandy
The Grand Canyon Lodge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Kay Gandy
The 14 mile Hike
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Kay Gandy
The School Program
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Kay Gandy
Half-way Party
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Kay Gandy
Lost Glasses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Kay Gandy
The Arizona Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Kay Gandy
Sunrise at the Canyon
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Kay Gandy
Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Kay Gandy
Disappointments
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Kay Gandy
Eldon Pueblo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Kay Gandy
Outback Steaks
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Kay Gandy
Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Kay Gandy
Dancing in the Moonlight
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Kay Gandy
Woods Canyon
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Kay Gandy
Peach Pancakes
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Kay Gandy
Ballad of the Southern Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Kay Gandy
Graduation Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Kay Gandy
Quiet Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Kay Gandy
The ATV Ride
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Kay Gandy
At the Motel
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Kay Gandy
Waiting for the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Kay Gandy
The Cat Walk
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Support Team
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Kay Gandy
The Ballad of the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Kay Gandy
Round Table Discussion
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Kay Gandy
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Kay Gandy
The Nose Rings
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Kay Gandy
The Backpacking Trip
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Kay Gandy
Doing the Laundry
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Kay Gandy
Lake Valley School
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Kay Gandy
Horse Canyon
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
The Trek Begins
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
What was the highlight of your first day on the Trek? (responses from the Southern team)
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.