American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michelle Williams
Saturday, August 24
A Better Day Already
Yes, better already, and it's just past noon. I almost didn't post what I wrote last night, but I need it as a reminder to remember how lucky I am to be here. After I wrote I hiked up the nearest mountain, only to find Bob Ashley taking pictures of one of the most spectacular vistas yet. We had a 360 degree view of the valley, with a electrical storm about fifty miles away, as we sat in fading sunlight. We vented our frustrations for a minute, but then watched the storm, and scanned the valley, and realized that as far as we could see, there was not another human. And were we not here, had we not had this terrible day, we would not be seeing this storm, would not be feeling this breeze, would not be there together sharing this incredible experience. And when I get as upset as I did yesterday, which will happen from time to time, I need to remember how easily I lose perspective. Yeah, yesterday was no good, but does the good outweigh the bad? Does the constant beauty outweigh the frustration? Do I love those who are here with me? Would I do it again if I knew in July what I know now? Yes, yes, YES! So there you are. We are camped now at a fishing hole at Salmon Fry campground, and the support team is about to go hike around Humboldt Spires, which is supposed to be some of the best rock climbing in the world. I feel great, the sun is out, and I'm feeling a little shy about how much I freaked yesterday. But today brings promises of sun and hiking and good stuff all around. And Cheryl and I might make tonight Mexican night, with my mom's enchilada recipe and my dad's guacamole, to brighten up the trekker's day. That's why I'm here, right?

Off to the cliffs...
for Saturday, August 24
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michelle Williams
No rest for the wicked-- Michelle Williams spends a day at the office, typing up journal entries for the trekkers

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 19
Michelle Williams
Back on the Green River
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michelle Williams
Two Days In A Canoe
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michelle Williams
Jammie Pants and a Wood Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michelle Williams
Wild Horses!
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michelle Williams
Reflections, September 10, 2002
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michelle Williams
Saturday Night Near Jackson Hole
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michelle Williams
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michelle Williams
Is it Wednesday?
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michelle Williams
Fall In Idaho
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michelle Williams
Saturday Morning, Day 32
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michelle Williams
Hump Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michelle Williams
A Ghost Town, A Dug-out Canoe, A Birthday and A Compound Fracture
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michelle Williams
Oh, Happy Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Michelle Williams
Sunday, August 25th
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michelle Williams
A Better Day Already
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michelle Williams
A Challenging Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michelle Williams
Wednesday, August 21
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michelle Williams
Tuesday, August 20
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michelle Williams
Monday, August 19
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michelle Williams
Easy Like...
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Michelle Williams
More on Saturday, August 17th
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Michelle Williams
Saturday, August 17th
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Michelle Williams
Thursday, August 15th
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michelle Williams
My Top Ten List
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michelle Williams
Freezing and Fires
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michelle Williams
Explore the River
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michelle Williams
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.