American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
Saturday, August 24
Rattlesnake! Bees!
View
Rob and Glacier the teddy bear next to their steed.

Rob and Glacier the teddy bear next to their steed.
Courtesy Charlotte Talley

View
An abandoned wood cutter's cabin.

An abandoned wood cutter's cabin.
Courtesy Rob Carlo

View
Team North cuts the ribbon on a newly-completed section of the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail, which they've come to know well as it passes through the mountains of Montana

Team North cuts the ribbon on a newly-completed section of the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail, which they've come to know well as it passes through the mountains of Montana

Day 25 - Today was an ďeasyĒ day. We 4X4ed in our new Honda Pilots for most of our mileage. We also hiked around some private land boundaries, again. As we were driving this morning, we saw two black bears, some elk, and deer. I often wonder how much wildlife we didnít see, but saw us. My highlight of the day was not getting bit by the rattlesnake and not getting stung by the bees. I was coming to a barbed wire fence that we had to climb to go across the highway. When I landed on the other side, I saw something move and heard the rattle. About eight feet in front of me was a rattlesnake! I immediately took a few steps in the opposite direction, told the others to beware, they took pictures and we got out of there. After a short ride in the 4X4 we had to cross the river. Iím walking down to the riverís edge when I noticed dozens of bees surrounding me. I ran back up the river bank, expecting to get stung. Not one sting- I got lucky! We finished today by early midafternoon, had lunch back here in camp. We are looking forward to ATVs tomorrow.
for Saturday, August 24
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
me and GLACIER  on a break
38-year-old Rob Carlo, was born and raised in Queens, one of the five boroughs...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Carlo
Welcome to Yellowstone National Park and Wyoming
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Robert Carlo
Labor Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
SPRING CREEK TO BLAIR LAKE
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
Campfire Friendships
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Robert Carlo
Backpacking Without the Backpacks.
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Carlo
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Carlo
Halfway with Charlie Brown, Penny, Banjo, Foxy, Shiloh and Ben
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Robert Carlo
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Carlo
I want my ATV!
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Robert Carlo
Rattlesnake! Bees!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Carlo
First To Travel on New Continental Divide Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Carlo
No Time To Sleep
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Carlo
Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Carlo
11 Months...
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Robert Carlo
Let's go fishin'
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Carlo
Be careful what you ask for
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
Ptarmigan Trail
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
A real dinner at last!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Robert Carlo
Kickoff events in Washington, DC
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Robert Carlo
My First Journal Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.