American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
Sunday, August 25
" Listen to All"
" Listen to All"
We're leaving the showers, the laundry, the courteous people that run the KOA, but hooray, I am ready for wide open spaces again! City gravel and grit to sleep on, your neighbor at arms length. Diversity is apparent when it comes to the different way of camping. I salute all the various choices, knowing that after experiencing them, I can choose what suits me best, like we all can. There's a sense of freedom.
We're driving to Walnut Canyon, a National Monument. Today is National Park Day. Everyone who visits gets in free. Fees are charged at National Monuments and Parks as policy set by the park service to help recover costs.
Reuben Honahnie, a Hopi Indian along with Naomi Shibata, park service guides for the park service met and gave us a warm welcome. In his soft, calm, melodic voice, Reuben began to tell us the history and background of the area and its people. He shared the ideas of scientists who have studied the area and added another point of view. The descendents of the people who lived in this area have their stories, stories that have been handed down in an oral tradition within the families and clans. They interacted in trade within the clans creating extended family trees as people moved in and out of the area. It is a sacred place, where many come on private pilgrimages to honor those that came before them. Theirs is living breathing culture trying to keep its ways.
Excavation has occurred through weather, nature and man. In the late 1800's and early 1900's there was a different philosophy. Tourists could take what they wanted. Sometimes areas were dynamited, cattle knocked down walls. Later it was designated a National Park to hopefully protect the treasures of a history of a people for the future.
It was interesting to find out that the signs now appearing on the trails will be changed. The information will include facts gathered from consultations with the tribes.
Reuben says, "Every rock has a story. The earth is alive right in front of you."
There are scientific facts that tell part of the story, there are the myths that tie into truths, and old stories match scientific evidence. I see from the experience of this journey it is well worth listening to all.

Later we visited Sunset Volcano
Sometime during 1064-1065 a fissure opened in a once open valley and spued out lava, changing the landscape. They say there are pit houses and cornfields buried under the lava flows. It is a spiritual site, home of the wind-"the spirit that dwells within us".
I begin to understand how:
Reuben can speaks of the land not belonging to anyone except the Creator
That in a sense there are truly no boundaries.
To be a humble people, to have patience, to live each day like it is your last will brings peace to those who seek it.
That one object can have many stories.
The more diverse the people involved in decision making, the better.
For people not to get upset or fuss over little things.
We can overcome hardships by being patient. It can mean living longer.
People must work together, there is no other way.
Have respect for everything.

Such profound statements reflected from the land, from the people of the land, for all people of the Land.

Sunset Volcano was designated a National Monument to preserve this area, to keep it for all Americans. Within the idea of preservation there is controversy because there are many views from diverse groups of people in how and what should be done in the name of preservation. It is a continuing dilemma.


In real contrast to that quiet meditative time, we shifted gears and jumped on the terrific Honda ATVs for a ride "Cross Country". A different pace, a different thought process.
I put on my helmet, my riding gloves and started my engine!!!! It is another great American public lands experience over a single tract motorized trail. Dirt, sand, rocks, smooth, bumpy, really bumpy, Hold on Tight. Yeahaa, it takes a lot of energy and concentration. At the same time we saw beautiful changing countryside. The mountains slid into to the background, open range appeared, knolls came into view. Jan led the way and we completed our 30 mile mission arriving at the campsite, dirt covered with big smiles. After we were sure the route had been finished for the day we took a little play time to ride the Honda ATVs over a small part of the C O Bar Ranch. Having taken the Honda safety course in Salt Lake City, I feel safe and sure as I ride the trails. I even had a chance to be the leader gaining assurance with each mile. It was marvelous fun and I really look forward to more of it later.

After a delicious Hungarian supper cooked by Steven Mauer, we packed our sleeping bags for a night 'somewhere' in the Kaibab National

for Sunday, August 25
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
A new look for the teachers lounge: Cathy K gets suited up to go riding the dual-sport motorcycles.
Cathy is a Homebound Teacher for students in grades Kindergarten through 12,...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Sunday, January 5
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 8
Catherine Kiffe
More Students Ask Questions
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, December 3
Catherine Kiffe
Student's Letter
   >> more...

•
Monday, November 25
Catherine Kiffe
Gifts from Long Ago
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 10
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 3
Catherine Kiffe
Using the Pictures
   >> more...

•
Friday, October 18
Catherine Kiffe
Rush, rush, rush
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, October 9
Catherine Kiffe
Home Again
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Catherine Kiffe
Together Again
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Catherine Kiffe
Packing Up
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Catherine Kiffe
Across Strawberry Reservoir
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Dinosaurs (or what’s left!)
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Catherine Kiffe
Accident
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Catherine Kiffe
Another Glorious Day on the trail.
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable---a place to learn
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Catherine Kiffe
A thrilling ride!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Catherine Kiffe
Fishlake National Forest
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Catherine Kiffe
Come for a 4 Wheel Drive
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Swirls
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Invasive Weeds
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Catherine Kiffe
I Love This Land
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Catherine Kiffe
Memorial Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Catherine Kiffe
Special Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Catherine Kiffe
How We Connect
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Bill then hee,hee, hee
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Catherine Kiffe
Wilderness Explained
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Catherine Kiffe
A River Ride and Dam View
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Catherine Kiffe
Headlamps
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Catherine Kiffe
What's Roaring?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Catherine Kiffe
The River
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Catherine Kiffe
Beginning the Walk Down
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Catherine Kiffe
Watch that Step
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Catherine Kiffe
Passion and Information
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Catherine Kiffe
" Listen to All"
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Catherine Kiffe
Trees, more or less?
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Catherine Kiffe
Dirt and Treasure and Sharing
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Catherine Kiffe
Be ready to change
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Biscuits
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Another Short Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Catherine Kiffe
A Short Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
Questions
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
A Great Day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Catherine Kiffe
A Scorched Land
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Catherine Kiffe
What? 30 miles??? Yes!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Catherine Kiffe
I Like It!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Catherine Kiffe
Life changing
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Day "off"
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Step Back In Time
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
Take A Deep Breath
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
A Little Bit of Water
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Catherine Kiffe
A Different Look At Burned Areas
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Catherine Kiffe
Take a Leap
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Catherine Kiffe
Delightful Things
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Catherine Kiffe
Not a Buggy Ride
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Ready for "hosses"
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Catherine Kiffe
"Bag a Peak" and Fight with a Bush!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Catherine Kiffe
Busy, busy!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Catherine Kiffe
Third Day of the Trek
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Catherine Kiffe
4 Wheeling
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 30
Catherine Kiffe
Kickoff Events in DC
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Catherine Kiffe
First day...
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, May 1
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
More Student Questions
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.