American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Lorie McGraw
Sunday, August 25
Red Rock


Had a great time with my folks. We listened to the archaeologist at Elden Pueblo ruins. These are on Public land and are quite unusual because they are in the city of Flagstaff and the archaeologists encourage the public to come and dig with them, learning about the techniques and reasons for doing careful archaeological investigations. By doing so, the public is encouraged to be archeologists and preserve our cultural sites, rather than be pothunters.

I checked the menu and shopped for that evening’s food, leaving the cooking to several very capable volunteer cooks.

My parents and I went down Highway 89 towards Sedona, AZ. You pass through Oak Creek Canyon, well, that is not exactly true. You fall into the canyon on a series of switchbacks that wind back and forth down about a thousand feet. Then you level off into a lovely oasis, green and cool, with spires and formations below and each bend is a different view, each prettier than the last. I do want to go back someday and camp on many of the Forest Service Campgrounds, there, particularly the Cave Springs Campground. A stream runs right next to it, and the canyon wrens were singing like mad.

Then suddenly spires appeared and the canyon is transformed. Redrock formations and very dry again, then out into Sedona, AZ. They get over 4 million visitors a year! But the area is beautiful. And it was such fun being with my folks again. They must leave tomorrow, but I am glad that they could make it down for a while.
for Sunday, August 25
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Lorie McGraw
Lorie McGraw

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Saturday, September 21
Lorie McGraw
The Call of the Wild
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Lorie McGraw
Rugged Beauty
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Lorie McGraw
Calf Creek and Grand Staircase
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Lorie McGraw
Lake Powell and Rainbow Bridge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Lorie McGraw
Rain in the Desert
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Lorie McGraw
A River and a Rainbow
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Lorie McGraw
Condors and Rock Art
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Lorie McGraw
Trekkers Return and an Old Cabin
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Lorie McGraw
Hopi, Navajo, and The North Rim
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Lorie McGraw
A hike, a bike, and web frustrations
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Lorie McGraw
The Big Ditch
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Lorie McGraw
A New Job
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Lorie McGraw
Halfway Point
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Lorie McGraw
Doing a job, or not?
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Lorie McGraw
Red Rock
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Lorie McGraw
Sunset Crater and CO Bar Ranch
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Lorie McGraw
Flagstaff and showers!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Lorie McGraw
Skunks and a practical joke
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Lorie McGraw
Mountain Lake and a Visitor
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Lorie McGraw
Silver City, Here We Come!
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Lorie McGraw
Vanilla Trees at Iron Creek Camp, Gila National Forest
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Lorie McGraw
On to the Gila Forest
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Lorie McGraw
Out of the (electronic) Darkness
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Lorie McGraw
The South Team is hosted at a Ghost Town in NM
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Lorie McGraw
First Day Highlight
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.