American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Jan Nesset
Tuesday, August 27
Checkerboard Kings and Queens
In my left hand I held a Garmin GPS and a topo map. In my right I held a Trimble GPS unit.
The Garmin has been an incredibly useful lightweight tool form the start of this Journey to help me interpret where we are on the planet and where we need to go. The Trimble, however, is new to me. Itís costly, about $4,000, and heavy - probably five times the weight of the Garmin.
Iíve chosen to use both units today because we have nine ďstep-overs.Ē Step-overs are what we call stepping from one corner of a square section of land over to another. The Babbitt Ranch is the private land and Arizona state trust land is the public.
Nearly the entire day will be spent crossing this checkerboard land, which is the reason I have decided to use both GPS units.
The Garmin can locate our position on land to within 15 feet and the Trimble to within three feet. So obviously we will use the Trimble to pinpoint our corners. The route programmed into the Garmin will give us a line to follow as we walk from corner to corner.
I have in my hands an ideal marriage of technologies, however, Iíd prefer to use just one unit. When weíre through the checkerboard Iíll go back to use just the Garmin. For most of our purposes itís the ticket.
We expected today to be a hard, long day. But the terrain was mostly flat and treeless. Few arroyos and rocky areas impeded our progress.
Rather, we were four people on a walk across a land described by juniper and pinion pine trees. Grassland and prairie were there for the occasional bands of cattle. Elk droppings, still laden with moisture, gave proof to the notion that elk also use this land. Ahead was the fringe of ponderosa pine that spreads like an ocean to the rim of the Grand Canyon.
We stared at the ground as we walked, for good reason. We searched for clues of the past, and we found some.
Julie discovered a marvelous arrowhead. It was broken in half with the pointy end missing but it was without doubt an arrowhead. She also found a pottery shard that still showed a painted line. When we had finished looking at the artifacts Julie dutifully placed them back on the land so that others may one day enjoy them.

To have been a young Indian here must have been like living in a dream. The area, like much of the country, is currently stricken with drought but letís not let that take from the dream. It doesnít take much imagination to see this land open and green with sweeping grassland.
Cattle grazing has reduced the grassland by limiting the natural fires which are necessary to check pinion pine and juniper growth. These trees are taking over the land, but again I digress.
Deer, elk, and pronghorn antelope were likely quarry. The arroyos and hills here would allow a sneaky hunter to get in range for a good show with a bow. The arrow might miss its mark. It might hit for a kill. Either way the arrowhead is likely to break. We found it today.

Nine step-overs and ten miles of easy cross-country walking put us on our next meal: beef steak and corn on the cob.
for Tuesday, August 27
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Jan Nesset
An experienced outdoorsman, Jan Nesset knows that everyone has to pitch in at camp
A native of Montana and the third of four children, Jan Nesset joins American...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, April 28
Jan Nesset
American Frontiers: Part II: Taking Stock
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 1
Jan Nesset
Canyonlands in December
   >> more...

•
Thursday, November 21
Jan Nesset
Snow Raspberry Bounty
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 17
Jan Nesset
The Bisti Badlands
   >> more...

•
Friday, November 15
Jan Nesset
Public Land Flows Through It
   >> more...

•
Thursday, November 7
Jan Nesset
A Day At Earth Analytic's Home
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, October 29
Jan Nesset
Slot Canyon Adventure
   >> more...

•
Monday, October 28
Jan Nesset
Some Things Never Change
   >> more...

•
Sunday, October 27
Jan Nesset
Back To The Wave
   >> more...

•
Monday, October 7
Jan Nesset
The Thing About Summits
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Jan Nesset
A New Beginning: National Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Jan Nesset
Big Day of Sneak and Salvage
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Jan Nesset
History-Coated Strawberry
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Jan Nesset
The Last Of It
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Jan Nesset
Dinosaurlandia
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Jan Nesset
Over The Edge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Jan Nesset
God Bless America
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Jan Nesset
Sometimes It's A Tough Life And We Get To Do It
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Jan Nesset
The Niche Near You
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Jan Nesset
Snow Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Jan Nesset
A Capitol Reef Bull's Eye
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Jan Nesset
A Lucky Rift
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Jan Nesset
Riding The Hog's Back
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Jan Nesset
Oh Rhythm My Rhythm
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Jan Nesset
Precious Images
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Jan Nesset
From the Hole to the Staircase
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Jan Nesset
Happy Days
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Jan Nesset
Do You Believe In Magic?
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Jan Nesset
The Bridge Over the River Why
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Jan Nesset
Public Lands And…Not You?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Jan Nesset
That Place So Special
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Jan Nesset
Just Looking To Have Some Fun – Be Dammed!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Jan Nesset
Do The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Jan Nesset
The Condors Are Coming!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Jan Nesset
Fires Are For The Birds
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Jan Nesset
Back On Top
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Jan Nesset
Perfection
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Jan Nesset
The Wheels Have Left The Tarmac
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Jan Nesset
Star Light
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Jan Nesset
The Traditional Connection
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Jan Nesset
Onward and Upward On Mountain Bikes
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Jan Nesset
Checkerboard Kings and Queens
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Jan Nesset
Aldo Leopold As Ranch Manager
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Jan Nesset
A Story In Everything
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Jan Nesset
Fire In The Whole
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Jan Nesset
"Good Morning, Flagstaff!"
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Jan Nesset
Hoping For The Best
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Jan Nesset
Could Get Stinky
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Jan Nesset
Wheels Asunder
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Jan Nesset
Hurt Me, Thank You!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Jan Nesset
Roads Aplenty and Rocks of Pleasure
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Jan Nesset
Of Dragons and Fire
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Jan Nesset
Motorcycles and the Zen of Route Mechanics
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Jan Nesset
Puzzled
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Jan Nesset
A Day Off, Sort Of
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Jan Nesset
A Delightful, Light Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Jan Nesset
Courage On Eagle Mountain
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Jan Nesset
Farewell
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Jan Nesset
My Aching Back In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Jan Nesset
Back In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Jan Nesset
In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Jan Nesset
Shut My Mouth!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Jan Nesset
Diversity and Song
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Jan Nesset
An Unraveling
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Jan Nesset
A Bagged Peak
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Jan Nesset
Lines On A Map
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Jan Nesset
GPS-Marriage Made In Heaven
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Jan Nesset
Free Wheelin'
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Jan Nesset
An Excellent Start
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.