American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Thursday, August 29
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
2:00 p.m. Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground - Stoddard Creek is a real campground, with real pit toilets and a water supply. It takes an overnight like last night’s disgusting cattle feed-lot to make a camper aware that many of the features we take for granted can be luxuries indeed. The Shineberger camp is not a campground at all; instead it is a trail head. In the Forest Service version of public lands, cattle grazing, horseback riding, hiking, and camping share the same places.
I rode with the trekkers yesterday, and I have a sore butt to prove it. My right foot—still black and blue from the ATV adventure of several days ago—was noticeably sore and tired after the ride. But I wouldn’t have missed it. My steed-for-a-day, “Banjo,” carried me safely for 16 miles over some spectacular mountains and through beautiful forests and the valley created by the Little Sheep Creek.
Mel Montgomery outfitted and led the trip, as he has been doing for years. He is affable, easy-going, and full of information.
The creek is home to trout, primarily cutthroat, which I could see if I looked carefully into the slightly deeper water just below the riffles. The creek (“crick”) was hardly large enough to be so called; people in other areas would call it a brook or rill. I was surprised that such a small stream would contain so many “pan-sized” fish. It was entertaining to spot the fish—a good thing, too, as we saw only limited other wildlife. We saw a couple of deer and maybe a glimpse of an elk in the forest. We also counted five tan specks on a distant mountain slope; we decided they were also deer. Our trail may have been as high as 9,000 feet. Our reference point was Mt. Garfield, only a few feet short of 11,000.
Distance and therefore travel time were challenges to judge, and we arrived in camp at about 6:15, an hour or more later than expected. It was a difficult task to find a level spot without cow pies to set up my tent, and a brisk wind blew unimpeded across the open field. We were treated to the beauty of an electrical storm and brief rain with strong winds. I turned in early and slept like a log.
for Thursday, August 29
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.