American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michelle Williams
Friday, August 30
Saturday Morning, Day 32
What would I be doing on Saturday morning at this time if I were back in New York? Hmmm. 10:08 AM, I'd be leaving my East Village apartment, walking west on 13th Street, passing the firehouse on my left, turning up Broadway and walking through the Union Square Greenmarket on my way to work. Instead, I woke up in a tent, grabbed a cup of joe and some oatmeal, refreshed the med bag for the trekker's latest trip and broke out party hats to celebrate Charlotte's birthday. She turns 25 in two days, but the team will be out on a backpacking trip so we had a little birthday breakfast. Today we move camp to Island Park, and we actually get to stay there for three whole days! Three days of not moving camp. Three days of day hikes and meeting folks and spreading the good word about public lands.

I'm looking forward to days in the woods. Yesterday, Cheryl and I left on errand duty and spent almost twelve hours in a car and in a city, namely Idaho Falls. We had do to thirteen loads of laundry, pick up hardware supplies, provision for meals for three days, go to the post office, camera store, music store, and find showers. It was a long, long day. But we got home to a blazing campfire, with our tents set up nearby, and the worried but smiling faces of our team. We were a few hours later than expected.

But this morning, all is well, and we just saw the trek team off on their next adventure. And we are looking forward to making the most of three full days near Yellowstone. So do me a favor, all you folks out there in the world- get out this weekend and enjoy your public lands. I know they will be crowded, since it is a holiday, but see it as an opportunity to make some new friends. Go for it, go play in a park, go swimming in a lake, by golly, go hug a tree. Come Monday, when you are working at your desk or staring at a computer or taking an order, you'll be happy you did. I promise.

for Friday, August 30
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michelle Williams
No rest for the wicked-- Michelle Williams spends a day at the office, typing up journal entries for the trekkers

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 19
Michelle Williams
Back on the Green River
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michelle Williams
Two Days In A Canoe
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michelle Williams
Jammie Pants and a Wood Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michelle Williams
Wild Horses!
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michelle Williams
Reflections, September 10, 2002
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michelle Williams
Saturday Night Near Jackson Hole
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michelle Williams
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michelle Williams
Is it Wednesday?
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michelle Williams
Fall In Idaho
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michelle Williams
Saturday Morning, Day 32
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michelle Williams
Hump Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michelle Williams
A Ghost Town, A Dug-out Canoe, A Birthday and A Compound Fracture
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michelle Williams
Oh, Happy Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Michelle Williams
Sunday, August 25th
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michelle Williams
A Better Day Already
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michelle Williams
A Challenging Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michelle Williams
Wednesday, August 21
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michelle Williams
Tuesday, August 20
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michelle Williams
Monday, August 19
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michelle Williams
Easy Like...
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Michelle Williams
More on Saturday, August 17th
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Michelle Williams
Saturday, August 17th
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Michelle Williams
Thursday, August 15th
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michelle Williams
My Top Ten List
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michelle Williams
Freezing and Fires
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michelle Williams
Explore the River
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Michelle Williams
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michelle Williams
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.