American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Charlotte Talley
Saturday, August 31
Mule Assist Backpacking Trip
Today we start a mule assisted backpacking trip. We have our guides Mel and his wife Chris from the Centennial Outfitters. We are to be heading through the Centennial Mountain Range that leads us to Wyoming. Today, we enter back into Montana. How depressing. I thought after all this travelling, we had finally left but I was wrong. Also, we are heading east, not south. Its all about stayin on public lands.

The first part of our hike was straight uphill. I am not sure how far we had to climb but it seemed to go on forever. We are back on the CDT. Once we got on top of the ridges, we could see the Teton Mountains. They seemed so far away, but at the same time we could tell how far we had come.

The hike today was beautiful. We travelled through open prairies and one section that was used for sheep experiments. Tons of wildlife.
We ended our day at a camp tucked away in the back of a valley.
The sky was so clear, I slept outside under the stars.
for Saturday, August 31
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Charlotte Talley
Mary Tullius (far left)of Utah State Parks leads Team North (l to r): Mike Murphy, Charlie Thorpe, Charlotte Talley, Cheryl Fusco, Rob Carlo.
Charlotte Talley, 24, grew up on the edge of the Blue Ridge Mountains of South...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 25
Charlotte Talley
Words to Remember
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Charlotte Talley
The Last Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Charlotte Talley
Side Trip to Dinosaur National Monument
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Charlotte Talley
Weather Report: Snow 100%
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Charlotte Talley
Yellowstone!!!!
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Charlotte Talley
Headwaters of the Missouri
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Charlotte Talley
Happy Birthday
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Charlotte Talley
Mule Assist Backpacking Trip
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Charlotte Talley
Summing up the days....
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Charlotte Talley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Charlotte Talley
I had an accident....
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Charlotte Talley
Trekker Games
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Charlotte Talley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Charlotte Talley
Proceed On
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Charlotte Talley
Answer to your questions
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Charlotte Talley
August 8th
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Charlotte Talley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Charlotte Talley
Hiking through Glacier National Park
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Charlotte Talley
First entry...
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.