American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Julie Overbaugh
Sunday, September 1
Leaving the Colorado River
I wake up and it is beautiful. The sun is coming up. I am hesitant to get packed. I don’t want to get off the river at Phantom Ranch, because I know there are so many more wonderful places to explore down river. We have less than 10 miles left on the river, before we hit Phantom Ranch. We have several smaller rapids before Phantom and they are wet and fun. We reach Phantom Ranch ahead of schedule and we disembark with our sleeping bags and backpacks. It is hard to say goodbye. Off the boat, I feel like I am just in a holding pattern to hike out of the canyon. Phantom Ranch with Bright Angel Creek is a beautiful oasis of green and wildlife. I see lots of wildlife: mule deer, ringtail cat, fox, scorpion, and other smaller critters. We eat a bag lunch of bagels, peanut butter, and snacks for dinner.
We stash our food and packs in ammo cans to keep from feeding the critters. I sleep on a metal picnic table, because it is just loose gravelly dirt around the group camping site. We turn in by 8 pm.
for Sunday, September 1
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Julie Overbaugh
Trekker Julie Overbough with Secretary Norton
A mother of two boys, 45-year-old Julie Overbaugh is a licensed registered nurse...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Friday, September 27
Julie Overbaugh
Joining
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Julie Overbaugh
Mill Hollow
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Julie Overbaugh
News at last
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Julie Overbaugh
The runaround
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Julie Overbaugh
Dr and MRI
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Julie Overbaugh
Ouch, but okay
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Julie Overbaugh
Manti-Lasal and ATVs
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Julie Overbaugh
Day 52-ATV
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Julie Overbaugh
Day51-ATV Roundtable
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Julie Overbaugh
Day 50-From Summer to Winter In a Day.
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Julie Overbaugh
Day 49- Capitol Reef to Elkhorn
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Julie Overbaugh
Day 48-Capitol Reef
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Julie Overbaugh
-Day 47-Sunday-Death Hollow
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Julie Overbaugh
Day 46- Calf Creek
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Julie Overbaugh
Day 45- Grand Staircase Escalante
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Julie Overbaugh
Day 44-Climbing out of the Hole in the Rock
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Julie Overbaugh
Day 43-Last day on Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Julie Overbaugh
September 10, 2002-Day 42- Tuesday-Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Julie Overbaugh
Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Julie Overbaugh
Setting Sail on Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Julie Overbaugh
Day 39-Field Trip with Marcy De Million
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Julie Overbaugh
Day 38-leaving Jacob Lake
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Julie Overbaugh
Condor issue
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Julie Overbaugh
Trekking and tired
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Julie Overbaugh
Up early
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Julie Overbaugh
Leaving the Colorado River
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Julie Overbaugh
Tanner Trail
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Julie Overbaugh
Day 31- Rapids
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Julie Overbaugh
Lees Ferry
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Julie Overbaugh
Day 28-Checkerboard day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Julie Overbaugh
Mountain Bike Ride, 1000 feet elevation gain
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Julie Overbaugh
Day 27-sunrise over the Grand Canyon
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Julie Overbaugh
Day 26Leaving Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Julie Overbaugh
Day 25-Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Julie Overbaugh
Day 24 - Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Julie Overbaugh
Day 23 - Sleep Interrupted
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Julie Overbaugh
Day 22-Almost to Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Julie Overbaugh
Tuesday-Day 21-Cow Pasture
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Julie Overbaugh
Day 20 - Mountain Bike Ride
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Julie Overbaugh
On the Road again
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Julie Overbaugh
A Day Off
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Julie Overbaugh
Motorcycle MaMa Rides again
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Julie Overbaugh
Motorcycle MaMa Rides
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Julie Overbaugh
Day 15-Hello Arizona
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Julie Overbaugh
Day 14-ATV Riding, Leaving New Mexico
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Julie Overbaugh
Day 13- Reserve, New Mexico
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Julie Overbaugh
Horse Pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Julie Overbaugh
Day 12- End of Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Julie Overbaugh
Day 11- Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Julie Overbaugh
Day 10 - Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Julie Overbaugh
Day 9- Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Julie Overbaugh
Day 8-Silver City, New Mexico
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Julie Overbaugh
Day 7-hiking to Emory Pass
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Julie Overbaugh
Day 6 - Backpacking in the Gila National Forest
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Julie Overbaugh
Day 5-Another Day, another Peak
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Julie Overbaugh
Day 4-The Up and Down Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Julie Overbaugh
Day 3- our first Long Walk
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Julie Overbaugh
Day 2 - Horse Canyon, Steep and Rocky
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Julie Overbaugh
First Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Julie Overbaugh
The Journey begins!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 30
Julie Overbaugh
Training
   >> more...

•
Sunday, July 28
Julie Overbaugh
Introduction
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Julie Overbaugh
1st Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.