American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
Monday, September 2
Labor Day
Headwaters of the Missouri River

We started today close to noon, with a long hike to meet our support team at Sawtelle Mountain. They were picking us up to 4X4 us to our next base camp at Island Park in Idaho.

Today was a long hike, with a beautiful, quiet lake, “Lillian Lake”, seen along the way. It was named after the first woman to winter in the Centennial Valley. We also hiked along “Hellroaring Creek” which is the headwater, or start of the Missouri River.

A lot of the hiking today was off-trail and a little more difficult walking. Most of us were wearing shorts and we were getting covered with these prickly burrs all over our socks. When they fell into your shoe, it was quite uncomfortable. The little things that annoy us, I can only imagine what the early pioneers had to endure. A couple of us rode the horses again today and our reunion with the support team was eventually had on the shoulder of Sawtelle Mountain. Farewells were had with Mel, Chris and Kimberly, and we invited all of them to join us if they could on any of their future camps.

A great dinner was prepared by support staff, bravo bravo! Showers were available, laundry was done,thanks Bob. A. All slept well for tomorrow starts a 2-day backpack into Yellowstone National Park.

for Monday, September 2
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Carlo
me and GLACIER  on a break
38-year-old Rob Carlo, was born and raised in Queens, one of the five boroughs...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Carlo
Welcome to Yellowstone National Park and Wyoming
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Robert Carlo
Labor Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
SPRING CREEK TO BLAIR LAKE
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Carlo
Campfire Friendships
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Robert Carlo
Backpacking Without the Backpacks.
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Carlo
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Carlo
Halfway with Charlie Brown, Penny, Banjo, Foxy, Shiloh and Ben
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Robert Carlo
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Carlo
I want my ATV!
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Robert Carlo
Rattlesnake! Bees!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Carlo
First To Travel on New Continental Divide Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Carlo
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Carlo
No Time To Sleep
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Carlo
Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Carlo
11 Months...
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Robert Carlo
Let's go fishin'
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Carlo
Be careful what you ask for
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
Ptarmigan Trail
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Robert Carlo
A real dinner at last!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Robert Carlo
Kickoff events in Washington, DC
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Robert Carlo
My First Journal Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.