American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Wednesday, September 4
Old Faithful
Dear America:
Field Report, Day 36

We had a short day with a shower at the end. YES! We hiked from Summit Lake down to Biscuit Basin, an easy three-hour hike. Our trail led through burn areas and forests not affected by the fires. Biscuit Basin is a geothermal area with hot pools, small geysers, and the smell of sulfur. We saw a herd of buffalo on the way to the campground.

At the Old Faithful Inn and Lodge we got hot showers and access to telephones. I called Gettysburg Elementary, my school, in Clovis U.S.D., California and talked to my reading buddy teachers, the library tech., who has a bulletin board devoted to the website and my journal entries.

I would like to thank John Russell, at One-on-One Fitness, for being my personal trainer for the past year. Without all of the help and encouragement I would probably not be able to handle the physical and mental stress that comes with being on the move everyday for two months.
for Wednesday, September 4
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Camping, Lewis & Clark style: Mike Murphy gets cozy in his buffalo robe near Clark Canyon Reservoir
Mike Murphy is a 48 year-old school teacher at Gettysburg Elementary. He works...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, January 22
Michael Murphy
Slide shows
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 15
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Michael Murphy
"It's Over."
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Michael Murphy
Joining Ceremony
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Michael Murphy
Last Backpack
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Michael Murphy
OIL & GAS SHOWCASE
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Michael Murphy
SURPRISE VISITOR
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Michael Murphy
Goodbye to Chris Pipkin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Michael Murphy
Wild Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Michael Murphy
Great Hosts
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Michael Murphy
Mines
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Michael Murphy
Trumpeter Swans
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michael Murphy
Bald Eagles & Fossils
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michael Murphy
Canoe
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Michael Murphy
Scaler Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michael Murphy
Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michael Murphy
TRAM
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Michael Murphy
Mountain Man
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Michael Murphy
Cliff Creek Falls
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Michael Murphy
Event Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michael Murphy
GPS saves the day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michael Murphy
Still raining
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Michael Murphy
Rain
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michael Murphy
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michael Murphy
Old Faithful
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Michael Murphy
Backpacking again
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Michael Murphy
River System
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michael Murphy
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Michael Murphy
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michael Murphy
Halfway
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Michael Murphy
Long Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
Buffalo Robe
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
ATV
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michael Murphy
No Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michael Murphy
Thanks to a student
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Michael Murphy
An easy day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michael Murphy
Students inspire teacher
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
More Horses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
Day 21
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michael Murphy
Back in the saddle
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michael Murphy
My brother shows up.
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 15
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 14. Tuesday, August 13. 12-14 miles.
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 13. Monday, August 12
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Michael Murphy
August 11
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Michael Murphy
Latest Update
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Michael Murphy
First six days
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Michael Murphy
Geology in Action
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Michael Murphy
First Journal Entry
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.