American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
Friday, September 6
A River Ride and Dam View
View
LM-hatchriver_groupshot_090.jpg

Courtesy Lorie McGraw



We packed all our gear, no small feat in itself, and move on. Our first stop is Hatch River Expeditions for a continental breakfast, a real treat. Sarah Hatch gave a presentation on the background of Hatch River Expeditions using part of the movie, “The River Runners”. She explained public and commercial use of the Grand Canyon, specifically the Colorado River uses. We came away with a much better understanding of permit and agency management of the river. There are many different views in the interpretation of preservation and conservation of the Grand Canyon. The public is invited to summit their ideas on the care of this public land up to November 1, 2002 to the Colorado River Management Plan Committee.
Hot Spot issues are:
revamping the Colorado River Management Plan
allocation

Hatch and other commercial users of the river have voluntarily switched to quieter motors and self regulate for better care of the river.
The main points are to have “A place for everybody” and to “experience, preserve, and educate” the river.
About 11 am
It is always interesting to hear the historical personal stories of the people of the area. The park ranger gave us a tour of Lees Ferry, speaking of the Honeymoon Trail, Lees Ferry Cabin

Just an interesting note on time. Here at the Arizona/Utah border we are constantly confused about what time it is since the two state are in two time zones and we go back and forth with a day.

About 12:00 Arizona ? Utah ?
It is drizzling, a rare event here, and we jump into a pontoon boat to ride through Glen Canyon on the Colorado River. I think this is one of my favorite places. The red Navajo sandstone cliffs tower above in various rounded and sheer cliff shapes. Down on the river, the banks are home to lush trees, bushes and grasses. We glimpse great blue herons, osprey as well as the ever present ravens. The wind blew cold and I pulled my rain jacket close around me when suddenly a gust of wind warmed by the sun-baked cliffs puffed against us. The wind, the scenery are filled with ever changing with surprises. We are very sorry when the ride is complete, the destination the stunning Glen Canyon Dam.
We were escorted on a VIP tour by Ken Rice, the dam manager (of course many jokes were made about this) and Doug Hendrix, Public Affairs Specialist . We learned facts about the history, maintenance and uses within the dam area.
Glen Canyon facts from the Bureau of Reclamation:
The reservoir behind the dam is not only a national playground, but a huge “savings bank” of water storage that allows the Upper Basin States of Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah to use their share of the Colorado River, and still deliver the entitled share of water to the Lower Basin States of Arizona, California, and Nevada. During times of drought in the Southwest, this is especially important.

This is especially important right now, being the second worst drought in the history of this area. We, on the trek have come to appreciate the significance of availability of water for drinking and washing. Learning to take water with us EVERYWHERE and learning to brush teeth and wash our face in cup of water has become a regular part of the trek. In some areas water has to be trucked into cities and therefore is a high commodity. I hope I never take water for granted again.

It was amazing to tour the inside of the dam from top to bottom. Being inside the tons of cement at lower levels is an eerie feeling. We were able to get numerous views inside and out of the workings of the complex mechanisms of the gigantic structure. Many more facts are available on their website.









for Friday, September 6
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
A new look for the teachers lounge: Cathy K gets suited up to go riding the dual-sport motorcycles.
Cathy is a Homebound Teacher for students in grades Kindergarten through 12,...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Sunday, January 5
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 8
Catherine Kiffe
More Students Ask Questions
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, December 3
Catherine Kiffe
Student's Letter
   >> more...

•
Monday, November 25
Catherine Kiffe
Gifts from Long Ago
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 10
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 3
Catherine Kiffe
Using the Pictures
   >> more...

•
Friday, October 18
Catherine Kiffe
Rush, rush, rush
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, October 9
Catherine Kiffe
Home Again
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Catherine Kiffe
Together Again
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Catherine Kiffe
Packing Up
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Catherine Kiffe
Across Strawberry Reservoir
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Dinosaurs (or what’s left!)
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Catherine Kiffe
Accident
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Catherine Kiffe
Another Glorious Day on the trail.
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable---a place to learn
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Catherine Kiffe
A thrilling ride!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Catherine Kiffe
Fishlake National Forest
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Catherine Kiffe
Come for a 4 Wheel Drive
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Swirls
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Invasive Weeds
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Catherine Kiffe
I Love This Land
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Catherine Kiffe
Memorial Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Catherine Kiffe
Special Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Catherine Kiffe
How We Connect
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Bill then hee,hee, hee
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Catherine Kiffe
Wilderness Explained
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Catherine Kiffe
A River Ride and Dam View
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Catherine Kiffe
Headlamps
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Catherine Kiffe
What's Roaring?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Catherine Kiffe
The River
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Catherine Kiffe
Beginning the Walk Down
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Catherine Kiffe
Watch that Step
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Catherine Kiffe
Passion and Information
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Catherine Kiffe
" Listen to All"
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Catherine Kiffe
Trees, more or less?
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Catherine Kiffe
Dirt and Treasure and Sharing
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Catherine Kiffe
Be ready to change
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Biscuits
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Another Short Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Catherine Kiffe
A Short Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
Questions
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
A Great Day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Catherine Kiffe
A Scorched Land
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Catherine Kiffe
What? 30 miles??? Yes!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Catherine Kiffe
I Like It!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Catherine Kiffe
Life changing
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Day "off"
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Step Back In Time
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
Take A Deep Breath
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
A Little Bit of Water
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Catherine Kiffe
A Different Look At Burned Areas
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Catherine Kiffe
Take a Leap
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Catherine Kiffe
Delightful Things
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Catherine Kiffe
Not a Buggy Ride
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Ready for "hosses"
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Catherine Kiffe
"Bag a Peak" and Fight with a Bush!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Catherine Kiffe
Busy, busy!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Catherine Kiffe
Third Day of the Trek
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Catherine Kiffe
4 Wheeling
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 30
Catherine Kiffe
Kickoff Events in DC
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Catherine Kiffe
First day...
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, May 1
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
More Student Questions
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.