American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Saturday, September 7
Paria Plateau
If you had two glorious days on a houseboat, what could spoil it? It has rained for three days now. Of course they have had a four-year drought here, so everyone is excited about the rain. At 9:00 we drove to the Paria Contact Center to meet Marcie for a driving tour of the Paria Plateau. Marcie actually works for BLM, the Park Service, and the Forest Service. We meandered back and forth between the Escalante Staircase Monument and the Vermillion Cliffs Monument, between Arizona and Utah, and between time zones. Since it was pouring rain it was difficult to appreciate the scenery, but even what little we saw was awe-inspiring. I can see why everyone is so proud of what they have here. One thing I've learned--don't just think of Arizona as the Grand Canyon state. There are so many other impressive sights here. I've felt my senses overload--I can hardly take it all in.
Lori found out that Page, AZ has a nice library with Internet, so most of us went there to check email and upload journals. I had 46 emails in one account, and 26 in the other. I love going to the library. After my 30 minutes of alloted computer time, I wandered around and lovingly touched my oldest friends, books.
Sam cooked chicken tandoori, which I think is an East Indian dish. It was absolutely wonderful. Some Honda executives on the houseboat next door came over and ate with us. Again we all piled on pillows and sleeping bags and watched a video. Sam bought ice cream called River Rapids, and we all ate cones. This is really my favorite part of the Trek. But tomorrow the support team has a five hour drive to the next stopping point.
for Saturday, September 7
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Kay Gandy linedancing.

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Friday, October 25
Kay Gandy
Back in the Real World
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Kay Gandy
Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Kay Gandy
Team Joining
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Kay Gandy
The End Is Near
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Kay Gandy
Tree Hugs And Salmon
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Kay Gandy
Dinosaurs
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Kay Gandy
The South Team
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Kay Gandy
ATV Haven
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Kay Gandy
SNOW
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Kay Gandy
The River Crossing
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Kay Gandy
Mountains out of Molehills
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Kay Gandy
Solitude
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Kay Gandy
The Free Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Kay Gandy
Waterfalls
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Kay Gandy
Back in the Routine
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Kay Gandy
Remembering America
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Kay Gandy
Planet of the Apes
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Kay Gandy
Rainbow Bridge and Orange Beach
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Kay Gandy
Paria Plateau
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Kay Gandy
Rivers and Lakes and Rainbows
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Kay Gandy
The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Kay Gandy
The Condors
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Kay Gandy
Trekking with the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Kay Gandy
The Mule Ride
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Kay Gandy
The Grand Canyon Lodge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Kay Gandy
The 14 mile Hike
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Kay Gandy
The School Program
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Kay Gandy
Half-way Party
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Kay Gandy
Lost Glasses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Kay Gandy
The Arizona Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Kay Gandy
Sunrise at the Canyon
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Kay Gandy
Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Kay Gandy
Disappointments
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Kay Gandy
Eldon Pueblo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Kay Gandy
Outback Steaks
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Kay Gandy
Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Kay Gandy
Dancing in the Moonlight
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Kay Gandy
Woods Canyon
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Kay Gandy
Peach Pancakes
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Kay Gandy
Ballad of the Southern Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Kay Gandy
Graduation Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Kay Gandy
Quiet Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Kay Gandy
The ATV Ride
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Kay Gandy
At the Motel
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Kay Gandy
Waiting for the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Kay Gandy
The Cat Walk
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Support Team
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Kay Gandy
The Ballad of the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Kay Gandy
Round Table Discussion
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Kay Gandy
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Kay Gandy
The Nose Rings
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Kay Gandy
The Backpacking Trip
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Kay Gandy
Doing the Laundry
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Kay Gandy
Lake Valley School
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Kay Gandy
Horse Canyon
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
The Trek Begins
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
What was the highlight of your first day on the Trek? (responses from the Southern team)
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.