American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Lorie McGraw
Saturday, September 7
Rain in the Desert
View
Hondas and other support vehicles wait for transport across the lake to Bullfrog Marina

Hondas and other support vehicles wait for transport across the lake to Bullfrog Marina
Courtesy Lorie L. McGraw

View
Three alcoves in the canyon wall that become waterfalls when it rains

Three alcoves in the canyon wall that become waterfalls when it rains
Courtesy Lorie McGraw

07-09-2002

Rain in the Desert

It has been raining almost all day today. We are on a houseboat at the Wahweap Marina. Rain in the desert is a special event. Washouts of sandy soil flood the roadway. The thirsty ground tries to suck up as much of the moisture as it can, but quickly becomes saturated and the runoff begins.
Tomorrow the support team begins the end-run around Lake Powell. The rain should be done by then, as a full day (or two) of rain is an unusual event. We will shuttle the vehicles through Monument Valley (and I will think of John Wayne western movies as we do), then up to Halls Crossing and on to Bullfrog Bay, where we will camp. We will take a motor boat to meet the houseboat, as they will leave the marina around noon on Sunday and head up the lake.
It should be an interesting trip, and it will be nice to relax on a boat for awhile. But it will be a while before we come out of our electronic darkness, so please stay tuned.

for Saturday, September 7
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Lorie McGraw
Lorie McGraw

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Saturday, September 21
Lorie McGraw
The Call of the Wild
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Lorie McGraw
Rugged Beauty
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Lorie McGraw
Calf Creek and Grand Staircase
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Lorie McGraw
Lake Powell and Rainbow Bridge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Lorie McGraw
Rain in the Desert
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Lorie McGraw
A River and a Rainbow
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Lorie McGraw
Condors and Rock Art
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Lorie McGraw
Trekkers Return and an Old Cabin
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Lorie McGraw
Hopi, Navajo, and The North Rim
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Lorie McGraw
A hike, a bike, and web frustrations
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Lorie McGraw
The Big Ditch
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Lorie McGraw
A New Job
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Lorie McGraw
Halfway Point
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Lorie McGraw
Doing a job, or not?
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Lorie McGraw
Red Rock
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Lorie McGraw
Sunset Crater and CO Bar Ranch
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Lorie McGraw
Flagstaff and showers!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Lorie McGraw
Skunks and a practical joke
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Lorie McGraw
Mountain Lake and a Visitor
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Lorie McGraw
Silver City, Here We Come!
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Lorie McGraw
Vanilla Trees at Iron Creek Camp, Gila National Forest
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Lorie McGraw
On to the Gila Forest
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Lorie McGraw
Out of the (electronic) Darkness
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Lorie McGraw
The South Team is hosted at a Ghost Town in NM
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Lorie McGraw
First Day Highlight
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.