American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Julie Overbaugh
Monday, September 9
Lake Powell


It is 10:30am; I am on the top deck of the houseboat on Lake Powell. Steve Ward is our Boat Captain. This is a rare treat on this journey, for we are traveling without effort. We are continuing our trek across Public Lands via public waterways. Oh yikes a misnomer-oh yeah, there is land under this water. The views are spectacular and ever changing as we move on the waterway through the canyons. I like to imagine what it would be like to have been here before the dam was built and to experience this arid canyon environment before there was damned water flooding it. I imagine the ruins, the petroglyphs, the pictographs, the artifacts, the burial grounds, the sacred places, and the flora and fauna that lie below the water and the ones that are gone forever.

Today, I wake up rested and the tension of the day before has faded from me. I enjoy my morning coffee perched up high on sandstone ledge over looking the lake. Cathy joins me and we talk about deep things that bring tears to both our eyes. We return to the cabin and Richard and Jan have prepared breakfast. Travis Travniker, Richard Burton, Steve Ward and our Richard and our Jan prepare our flotilla for motoring down the lake. I see Jan’s experience as a commercial captain come forth. I see Richards time spent as a sailor on his own sailboat come forth as well.

We begin to motor on, flotilla forward! We boat to Dangling Rope Marina, which is totally water-based marina. All the gasoline, used to fill the many boats, is barged in. We disembark from the houseboat and get in the smaller Honda powered motorboat and go to Rainbow Bridge. Rainbow Bridge. It is the world’s largest natural Bridge. The interpreter, who is scheduled to meet us, doesn’t and Steve Ward takes over and gives us an excellent tour. The physical attributes of the bridge include: the height is 290 feet tall, and spans 275 feet across the arroyo. The top of the arch is 42 feet thick and 33 feet wide. It is believed that the bridge is a lost meander of the river. To be concise water formed Rainbow Bridge. When water comes in contact with sandstone, it dissolves the limestone, which is calcium carbonate, the cement that holds together the sand grains. Include in that recipe, water freezing and thawing and flash floods and millions of years of meandering water and you make an arch. Don’t try this recipe at home! We spend a couple of hours at Rainbow Bridge, National Monument, which is run by the National Park Service. Some of us hike, some of us visit with others and some of us nap by the bridge. The Rainbow Bridge area is considered a sacred place by Native Americans. Rainbow Bridge is also accessible by foot, by two trails that originate near Navajo Mountain. Hikers must obtain permits through the Navajo Nation, Parks and Recreation Department.

We travel back to the houseboat, which remains anchored at the Dangling Ropes Marina. We set sail in the houseboat to a side canyon, which has nice sandy beaches, and anchor the boats. The sun is setting while this happens. Jacob, Jan, Richard and I swim in the darkness.
for Monday, September 9
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Julie Overbaugh
Trekker Julie Overbough with Secretary Norton
A mother of two boys, 45-year-old Julie Overbaugh is a licensed registered nurse...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Friday, September 27
Julie Overbaugh
Joining
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Julie Overbaugh
Mill Hollow
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Julie Overbaugh
News at last
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Julie Overbaugh
The runaround
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Julie Overbaugh
Dr and MRI
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Julie Overbaugh
Ouch, but okay
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Julie Overbaugh
Manti-Lasal and ATVs
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Julie Overbaugh
Day 52-ATV
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Julie Overbaugh
Day51-ATV Roundtable
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Julie Overbaugh
Day 50-From Summer to Winter In a Day.
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Julie Overbaugh
Day 49- Capitol Reef to Elkhorn
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Julie Overbaugh
Day 48-Capitol Reef
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Julie Overbaugh
-Day 47-Sunday-Death Hollow
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Julie Overbaugh
Day 46- Calf Creek
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Julie Overbaugh
Day 45- Grand Staircase Escalante
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Julie Overbaugh
Day 44-Climbing out of the Hole in the Rock
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Julie Overbaugh
Day 43-Last day on Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Julie Overbaugh
September 10, 2002-Day 42- Tuesday-Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Julie Overbaugh
Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Julie Overbaugh
Setting Sail on Lake Powell
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Julie Overbaugh
Day 39-Field Trip with Marcy De Million
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Julie Overbaugh
Day 38-leaving Jacob Lake
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Julie Overbaugh
Condor issue
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Julie Overbaugh
Trekking and tired
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Julie Overbaugh
Up early
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Julie Overbaugh
Leaving the Colorado River
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Julie Overbaugh
Tanner Trail
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Julie Overbaugh
Day 31- Rapids
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Julie Overbaugh
Lees Ferry
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Julie Overbaugh
Day 28-Checkerboard day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Julie Overbaugh
Mountain Bike Ride, 1000 feet elevation gain
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Julie Overbaugh
Day 27-sunrise over the Grand Canyon
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Julie Overbaugh
Day 26Leaving Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Julie Overbaugh
Day 25-Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Julie Overbaugh
Day 24 - Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Julie Overbaugh
Day 23 - Sleep Interrupted
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Julie Overbaugh
Day 22-Almost to Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Julie Overbaugh
Tuesday-Day 21-Cow Pasture
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Julie Overbaugh
Day 20 - Mountain Bike Ride
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Julie Overbaugh
On the Road again
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Julie Overbaugh
A Day Off
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Julie Overbaugh
Motorcycle MaMa Rides again
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Julie Overbaugh
Motorcycle MaMa Rides
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Julie Overbaugh
Day 15-Hello Arizona
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Julie Overbaugh
Day 14-ATV Riding, Leaving New Mexico
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Julie Overbaugh
Day 13- Reserve, New Mexico
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Julie Overbaugh
Horse Pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Julie Overbaugh
Day 12- End of Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Julie Overbaugh
Day 11- Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Julie Overbaugh
Day 10 - Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Julie Overbaugh
Day 9- Horse pack Trip
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Julie Overbaugh
Day 8-Silver City, New Mexico
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Julie Overbaugh
Day 7-hiking to Emory Pass
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Julie Overbaugh
Day 6 - Backpacking in the Gila National Forest
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Julie Overbaugh
Day 5-Another Day, another Peak
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Julie Overbaugh
Day 4-The Up and Down Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Julie Overbaugh
Day 3- our first Long Walk
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Julie Overbaugh
Day 2 - Horse Canyon, Steep and Rocky
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Julie Overbaugh
First Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Julie Overbaugh
The Journey begins!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 30
Julie Overbaugh
Training
   >> more...

•
Sunday, July 28
Julie Overbaugh
Introduction
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Julie Overbaugh
1st Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.