American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
Monday, September 9
How We Connect
As I write the word September I am reminded we are in the “countdown” now. I didn’t know how I would feel when the time came. I wanted the adventure to go on and on and on. I think I will be ready to shift gears when the time comes, an odd thought to me right now.

Later in the day…..
I sit here on a flat red-stained sandstone rock, cherishing the moments of silence and solitude as the others either stay back on the trail or go on. I sit past the Rainbow Bridge, a sacred place for the Navajo Indians. I remember that Reuben, a Hopi Indian, told us that one object has many stories. One Native American story is of a boy who herding sheep and was caught in a flash flood. Suddenly a rainbow appeared and turned to stone. He was saved. I asked Steve, now our guide, if he knew of any Native American stories that tied into today’s science theories like we learned at another site. I like to think there is a constant link between stories passed down and what we discover as time goes on.
The signs on the path speak of the Native American’s request that visitors appreciate and respect their beliefs for this sacred area and voluntarily not go on. The signs have changed from years past, saying that said that no one COULD go on. Those signs had to change, there were law suits. One object, many stories.
Back to my solitude…..The gentle trickling of the small water fall below rounds rocks in its mud-filled passing. Hard to believe or imagine how water as changed the rock face to form the famous Rainbow Bridge, first seen in 1909 by the first “white” man. Now there is a cemented path up to this point where thousands of visitors brought by boat can come to see this natural phenomenon.
I envision the gentle tread of Native Americans here long before the interesting stories told. At one with the earth, sacred they call this place. What is scared to each of us? What beliefs are connected to help in our understanding of our place in time?
Each generation has its trials and triumphs, personally and as a nation. Revered stories of the adventurers that came before us are told to us by many people. What drove them out of their comfort zone to seek the unknown on these lands, so harsh and difficult to traverse? What is unknown to us? How can we connect to the land to know more about ourselves.
Public lands offer many people many ways to know the land. I t could be through books and pictures. It could be through visits to parks near home. There are well planned, cemented walks where thousands of visitors go each year to the National Parks and Monuments. There are less traveled trails for those a little more stout-hearted - are campgrounds with some space between, bathrooms and showers offered, sites with less people. There are wilderness areas, undeveloped places, beaches in canyons, clearings in forests, rock cliffs and mountains for the sure-footed who need no trail, desires no trail.
for Monday, September 9
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
A new look for the teachers lounge: Cathy K gets suited up to go riding the dual-sport motorcycles.
Cathy is a Homebound Teacher for students in grades Kindergarten through 12,...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Sunday, January 5
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 8
Catherine Kiffe
More Students Ask Questions
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, December 3
Catherine Kiffe
Student's Letter
   >> more...

•
Monday, November 25
Catherine Kiffe
Gifts from Long Ago
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 10
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 3
Catherine Kiffe
Using the Pictures
   >> more...

•
Friday, October 18
Catherine Kiffe
Rush, rush, rush
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, October 9
Catherine Kiffe
Home Again
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Catherine Kiffe
Together Again
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Catherine Kiffe
Packing Up
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Catherine Kiffe
Across Strawberry Reservoir
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Dinosaurs (or what’s left!)
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Catherine Kiffe
Accident
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Catherine Kiffe
Another Glorious Day on the trail.
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable---a place to learn
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Catherine Kiffe
A thrilling ride!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Catherine Kiffe
Fishlake National Forest
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Catherine Kiffe
Come for a 4 Wheel Drive
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Swirls
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Invasive Weeds
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Catherine Kiffe
I Love This Land
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Catherine Kiffe
Memorial Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Catherine Kiffe
Special Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Catherine Kiffe
How We Connect
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Bill then hee,hee, hee
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Catherine Kiffe
Wilderness Explained
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Catherine Kiffe
A River Ride and Dam View
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Catherine Kiffe
Headlamps
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Catherine Kiffe
What's Roaring?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Catherine Kiffe
The River
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Catherine Kiffe
Beginning the Walk Down
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Catherine Kiffe
Watch that Step
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Catherine Kiffe
Passion and Information
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Catherine Kiffe
" Listen to All"
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Catherine Kiffe
Trees, more or less?
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Catherine Kiffe
Dirt and Treasure and Sharing
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Catherine Kiffe
Be ready to change
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Biscuits
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Another Short Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Catherine Kiffe
A Short Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
Questions
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
A Great Day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Catherine Kiffe
A Scorched Land
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Catherine Kiffe
What? 30 miles??? Yes!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Catherine Kiffe
I Like It!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Catherine Kiffe
Life changing
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Day "off"
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Step Back In Time
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
Take A Deep Breath
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
A Little Bit of Water
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Catherine Kiffe
A Different Look At Burned Areas
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Catherine Kiffe
Take a Leap
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Catherine Kiffe
Delightful Things
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Catherine Kiffe
Not a Buggy Ride
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Ready for "hosses"
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Catherine Kiffe
"Bag a Peak" and Fight with a Bush!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Catherine Kiffe
Busy, busy!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Catherine Kiffe
Third Day of the Trek
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Catherine Kiffe
4 Wheeling
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 30
Catherine Kiffe
Kickoff Events in DC
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Catherine Kiffe
First day...
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, May 1
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
More Student Questions
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.