American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Friday, September 13
Waterfalls
I slept deeply last night despite the river noise and the children playing nearby. The Trekkers headed out at 9:00 for a ten mile hike. The support team drove into Escalante, Utah to the Escalante Interagency Office for the Bureau of Land Management, the Park Service and the Forest Service. I believe this is one of the few places that all three land management agencies work together. We showed the PowerPoint about the trek, then each team member spoke about their experiences along the way. I thought the discussion went very well. Bob asked the land managers what message would they like the public to hear. Jeanne Lynn spoke words that we hear everywhere we go: “Tell people to go to the source for information, and not make decisions based on emotions.” She also requested that people go to the land management agencies for information on access to public lands. Part of our mission is to get people aware of issues so they can make informed decisions concerning our public lands.
When we came back to camp, Jessica, Jake, and I packed sandwiches and hiked three miles to the Calf Creek Lower Falls. We only had a couple of hours, so we moved at a fast pace. The waterfall was beautiful, and a cold pond of water waited to meet my feet. We wolfed down our lunches and headed back to camp. On the way to the falls we passed three different sets of hikers, and passed them again on the way back. I’ve noticed that most western plants have sticky, prickly parts. I have lots of cuts and scratches from acquaintances I’ve made with the local flora. I’m amazed in the change in myself. I don’t think anything about taking a six-mile walk.
We’re excited that the tech trailer is here and Marlene, our new volunteer techie. We haven’t had email access in days. That’s the story for us-we go days without Internet access, a new volunteer comes in for a couple of days, they usually take a full day to figure out the system and work on maps, and maybe we get a half day to load journal writings or check email. It’s helped a lot that Lori is working with the technical crew. Sometimes she drives into a nearby town and loads our journal writings for us. We have four laptops, so in any free time we type and save our stories.
This evening we had bar-b-que ribs, one of my favorite dishes.
for Friday, September 13
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Kay Gandy
Kay Gandy linedancing.

   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Friday, October 25
Kay Gandy
Back in the Real World
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Kay Gandy
Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Kay Gandy
Team Joining
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Kay Gandy
The End Is Near
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Kay Gandy
Tree Hugs And Salmon
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Kay Gandy
Dinosaurs
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Kay Gandy
The South Team
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Kay Gandy
ATV Haven
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Kay Gandy
SNOW
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Kay Gandy
The River Crossing
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Kay Gandy
Mountains out of Molehills
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Kay Gandy
Solitude
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Kay Gandy
The Free Day
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Kay Gandy
Waterfalls
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Kay Gandy
Back in the Routine
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Kay Gandy
Remembering America
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Kay Gandy
Planet of the Apes
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Kay Gandy
Rainbow Bridge and Orange Beach
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Kay Gandy
Paria Plateau
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Kay Gandy
Rivers and Lakes and Rainbows
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Kay Gandy
The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Kay Gandy
The Condors
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Kay Gandy
Trekking with the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Kay Gandy
The Mule Ride
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Kay Gandy
The Grand Canyon Lodge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Kay Gandy
The 14 mile Hike
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Kay Gandy
The School Program
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Kay Gandy
Half-way Party
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Kay Gandy
Lost Glasses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Kay Gandy
The Arizona Trail
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Kay Gandy
Sunrise at the Canyon
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Kay Gandy
Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Kay Gandy
Disappointments
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Kay Gandy
Eldon Pueblo
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Kay Gandy
Outback Steaks
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Kay Gandy
Flagstaff
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Kay Gandy
Dancing in the Moonlight
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Kay Gandy
Woods Canyon
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Kay Gandy
Peach Pancakes
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Kay Gandy
Ballad of the Southern Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Kay Gandy
Graduation Day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Kay Gandy
Quiet Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Kay Gandy
The ATV Ride
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Kay Gandy
At the Motel
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Kay Gandy
Waiting for the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Kay Gandy
The Cat Walk
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Support Team
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Kay Gandy
The Long Drive
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Kay Gandy
The Ballad of the Trekkers
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Kay Gandy
Round Table Discussion
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Kay Gandy
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Kay Gandy
The Nose Rings
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Kay Gandy
The Backpacking Trip
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Kay Gandy
Doing the Laundry
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Kay Gandy
Lake Valley School
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Kay Gandy
Horse Canyon
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
The Trek Begins
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Kay Gandy
What was the highlight of your first day on the Trek? (responses from the Southern team)
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.