American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Monday, September 16
Monday, September 16, 2002. 5:00 Weeping Rock Campground, Green River.

A float trip on the Green is not like a float trip on the Current River or Jack’s Fork in Southern Missouri. The Green has a decent current, but the wind is in the canoeist’s face the whole trip. It is necessary to paddle!

The canoe trip today is the first of a series of day trips down the Green River. As we have four canoes, there is space for three of the support team each day. Dave encouraged me to participate today because I will be busy with school presentations later this week. I did, and I enjoyed it. It was only four miles, and Dana paddled like a machine. I steered the canoe and admired the beautiful cliffs along the river. We were out by early afternoon.

It turned out to be a long day, though. I got up to ice on my tent and hurried to haul the Trekking Team to their start, which was a hike around private land. It was a phenomenal start to the day-the road was narrow, winding, rocky, and through beautifully forested mountains. We had a scary moment on the mountain, but Dave rescued the day from catastrophe by using a wire to unlock his car (keys inside!). While the trekkers hiked to the river, we moved camp to meet them, boarded the canoes, and floated to the takeout.

Our camp at Weeping Rock is on BLM land, the name taken from a water-bearing rock stratum on the opposite cliff from which water falls about four to six feet into the river. The campground is mostly devoid of vegetation, so finding a flat spot with some grass to set up my tent was a challenge. The threat of high winds and rain or hail encouraged us to pack the kitchen back into the trailer and drive to Kemmerer, 45 miles away, for supper.
for Monday, September 16
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.