American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Wednesday, September 18
Kemmerer
View
Kemmerer Elementary 4th grade.

Kemmerer Elementary 4th grade.
Courtesy Bob Ashley

Wednesday, September 18, 2002. Seedskadee National Wildlife Refuge.

Great day! I participated in two events today that were very special. Either one would have made my day. Both activities reminded me that I will not be returning to the classroom at the end of this adventure and that it will be necessary for me to find audiences to whom I can show my slides!

Jolene Bartlett and Eva Lamp invited me to speak to their fourth grade classes at Kemmerer Elementary School today. Despite the success of the Yellowstone Elementary School presentation which was with young children, I was still apprehensive about appearing. As it turned out, there was no need for concern. I was treated royally by the office staff and faculty. They provided a spare room for me to sort through my slides to prepare for the presentation, loaned me a brand new slide projector, and helped me set up in the gymnasium/multipurpose room. The kids-about 45 of them-were all eyes and attention. They sat on the carpeted floor and hung on every word. I pulled up a chair and sat to “get small,” then talked with them as informally as I could.

I presented the slides, commenting on each to introduce the team and illustrate the places we have visited. Yellowstone was of particular interest to them because they will be participating in a four-day field trip to the park. Of course, they liked the pictures of animals best, so I was happy I had included a large selection. They were full of questions: Did I see bears? How many miles did we travel? How many animals did we see? Did I get cold? Did I hike? Have I ever tipped a canoe over? I answered the best I could, but I had to stop the session to be sure we had enough time to sing “This Land is Your Land,” watch the National Geographic Channel videotape of the trekker coverage, and have a group picture taken. I handed out pencils imprinted with the American Frontiers web site and promised their picture would appear on the internet. They were delighted.

Tonight Seedskadee manager Carol Damberg presented a power point program about the Seedskadee National Wildlife Refuge, the largest in Wyoming. The program was shown in the spacious yet-to-be-completed new visitors’ center. I followed with a slide presentation of the trek, and Bob V. also showed a set of slides he had taken during the trek. The entire evening’s production was well received, so it was another satisfying experience for me.
for Wednesday, September 18
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.