American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Friday, September 20
Friday, September 20, 2002. 6:00 p.m. Tex’s Campground, Green River.

Today I presented an American Frontiers education outreach program at Lincoln Middle School in Green River. It may be the last, as I have nothing scheduled for next week—and the trek ends at the end of the week! We have two boating days and two hiking days left, then the Public Lands Day ceremony. Sensing the scheduled end of the trek, I tried to finish the project on a high note. I showed my slides of the trek and the National Geographic Channel’s videotape, answered questions, and demonstrated my backpack and camping gear. The kids were receptive; they listened attentively and asked good questions, but they were seventh graders—and seventh graders are many times preoccupied with the problems associated with the child-to-adult transition. Overall, though, it was another good session.

I finished the program by early afternoon, so I drove back to Kemmerer Elementary School to present an American Frontiers bandana to the fourth graders I met yesterday. The bandana had the signatures of all the North Team, so I expected it would be well received. It was—but only by Eva Lamp, one of the two teachers. The children were busy with another special program. A park ranger was helping them prepare for their upcoming Yellowstone Park trip by talking about bears. I’m sure their great interest and enthusiasm boosted the ranger’s sense of accomplishment as they did mine.

The drive gave me the opportunity to reflect about the trek and wonder what will happen after it concludes next week. Our team has become something of a family. We get along well, we are efficient at doing the various things required in our mission, and we have developed a remarkable positive espirit de corps. We have “lived in each other’s armpits”—as someone commented—for two months, and our project will come to an end in another week. After our final ceremony, I’ll board a plane bound for St. Louis, where I’ll try to fit back into a life that will be far different from the trekking adventure. I recall some behavioral scientist’s comment that “we are part of all that we meet” and wonder what impact my adventure will have on my future.
for Friday, September 20
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.