American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Jan Nesset
Saturday, September 21
God Bless America
America the Beautiful, the song, is not meant to be an understatement but it is. From sea to shining sea, this country is more than beautiful, it's amazingly diverse and breathtaking. A third of our country is public lands, which means that the land title belongs to the American people. What we do with it is simply up to us to decide.
Today, yet again we decide to enjoy it by sticking to our ATVs but also spending some time on foot. We have three private property walkarounds.
We remain high in the Manti LaSal National Forest traveling the dirt roads that cross more and more open highland. The forest is naturally beginning to grow around high prairies and fields. Large flocks of sheep are numerous, as are the shepherds modern sheep wagons. The elk hunters are out in force.
Somewhere along this road our Manti LaSal Forest guide, Varion, pulls us over. Across the road are the words God Bless America spelled out with rocks. Each letter is six feet tall but lying flat on the ground. Varion said that a few days after Setptember 11, somebody constructed the words. Because such a structure is not allowed on these public lands, the forest managers said God Bless America, the rocks, had to go. But no forest employee will take them down, said Varion, because they feel it is just not right to do so. Bad JuJu. I don't blame them.
Varion said that the person who built the rock God Bless America was not known, but as we took photographs of the words a man in a nearby camp walked into the road and said it was he who built the structure. Richard, a former Marine, stepped our to introduce himself and shake his hand. Several of us followed suit.
God Bless America.
for Saturday, September 21
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Jan Nesset
An experienced outdoorsman, Jan Nesset knows that everyone has to pitch in at camp
A native of Montana and the third of four children, Jan Nesset joins American...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, April 28
Jan Nesset
American Frontiers: Part II: Taking Stock
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 1
Jan Nesset
Canyonlands in December
   >> more...

•
Thursday, November 21
Jan Nesset
Snow Raspberry Bounty
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 17
Jan Nesset
The Bisti Badlands
   >> more...

•
Friday, November 15
Jan Nesset
Public Land Flows Through It
   >> more...

•
Thursday, November 7
Jan Nesset
A Day At Earth Analytic's Home
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, October 29
Jan Nesset
Slot Canyon Adventure
   >> more...

•
Monday, October 28
Jan Nesset
Some Things Never Change
   >> more...

•
Sunday, October 27
Jan Nesset
Back To The Wave
   >> more...

•
Monday, October 7
Jan Nesset
The Thing About Summits
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Jan Nesset
A New Beginning: National Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Jan Nesset
Big Day of Sneak and Salvage
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Jan Nesset
History-Coated Strawberry
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Jan Nesset
The Last Of It
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Jan Nesset
Dinosaurlandia
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Jan Nesset
Over The Edge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Jan Nesset
God Bless America
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Jan Nesset
Sometimes It's A Tough Life And We Get To Do It
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Jan Nesset
The Niche Near You
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Jan Nesset
Snow Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Jan Nesset
A Capitol Reef Bull's Eye
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Jan Nesset
A Lucky Rift
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Jan Nesset
Riding The Hog's Back
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Jan Nesset
Oh Rhythm My Rhythm
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Jan Nesset
Precious Images
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Jan Nesset
From the Hole to the Staircase
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Jan Nesset
Happy Days
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Jan Nesset
Do You Believe In Magic?
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Jan Nesset
The Bridge Over the River Why
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Jan Nesset
Public Lands And…Not You?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Jan Nesset
That Place So Special
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Jan Nesset
Just Looking To Have Some Fun – Be Dammed!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Jan Nesset
Do The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Jan Nesset
The Condors Are Coming!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Jan Nesset
Fires Are For The Birds
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Jan Nesset
Back On Top
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Jan Nesset
Perfection
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Jan Nesset
The Wheels Have Left The Tarmac
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Jan Nesset
Star Light
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Jan Nesset
The Traditional Connection
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Jan Nesset
Onward and Upward On Mountain Bikes
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Jan Nesset
Checkerboard Kings and Queens
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Jan Nesset
Aldo Leopold As Ranch Manager
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Jan Nesset
A Story In Everything
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Jan Nesset
Fire In The Whole
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Jan Nesset
"Good Morning, Flagstaff!"
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Jan Nesset
Hoping For The Best
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Jan Nesset
Could Get Stinky
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Jan Nesset
Wheels Asunder
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Jan Nesset
Hurt Me, Thank You!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Jan Nesset
Roads Aplenty and Rocks of Pleasure
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Jan Nesset
Of Dragons and Fire
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Jan Nesset
Motorcycles and the Zen of Route Mechanics
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Jan Nesset
Puzzled
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Jan Nesset
A Day Off, Sort Of
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Jan Nesset
A Delightful, Light Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Jan Nesset
Courage On Eagle Mountain
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Jan Nesset
Farewell
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Jan Nesset
My Aching Back In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Jan Nesset
Back In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Jan Nesset
In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Jan Nesset
Shut My Mouth!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Jan Nesset
Diversity and Song
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Jan Nesset
An Unraveling
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Jan Nesset
A Bagged Peak
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Jan Nesset
Lines On A Map
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Jan Nesset
GPS-Marriage Made In Heaven
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Jan Nesset
Free Wheelin'
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Jan Nesset
An Excellent Start
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.