American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Saturday, September 21
Saturday, September 21, 2002. 5:00 p.m. Tex’s Campground, Green River.

Some 5,000-7,000 wild horses roam the nearly 400,000 BLM-managed acres in southwestern Wyoming, and the BLM takes seriously the Congress-mandated charge of managing the wild herds. The Green River and Rock Springs Chambers of Commerce are also interested in promoting the public’s awareness about the horses. Today BLM representatives escorted us on a tour of the good gravel roads north of I-80 where we could view the wild horses. The loop road is being supplied with pull-offs and information signs at interesting points so that visitors can experience self-guided tours. The BLM personnel were also very informative about the horses, the value of native vegetation, and the geology of the area.

The Chambers of Commerce hosted a dinner for the North Team last evening on Expedition Island in Green River. It was a great opportunity to meet and talk with members of the two chambers and BLM personnel. The two communities have interesting histories. Green River is associated with very early explorers, including William Ashley and his fur-trapping “mountain men” in the 1820s and John Wesley Powell, whose two famous expeditions of 1869 and 1871 were launched from Expedition Island. Rock Springs grew as a result of rich coal deposits, discovered when the transcontinental railroad was being planned. The mines became the property of Union Pacific Coal, and Rock Springs became a “company town.” Successive waves of immigrants from diverse nations populated the city, and the 20,000 inhabitants celebrate “International Day” in June to honor the 56 nationalities represented among the citizenry. The city calls itself the “Melting Pot.” The Union Pacific Railroad connects the two cities with East and West, and between 75 and 100 trains pass through on a normal day.

This afternoon was play time. BLM provided ATVs for all who wanted to run them up and down the 100-foot high shifting sand dunes at the Killpecker Dune Fields. Described as the “largest moving sand dunes in North America,” the sand mountains stretch 100 miles north of Rock Springs. Hey, it was great fun! I did not turn my machine over this time, and when we left the wind was covering the tracks we’d made in the sand.

Incidentally, the clear water of Green River actually appears greenish, so it is reasonable to believe the idea that the green soapstone banks of the river contribute the color and name. On the other hand, early explorer-fur trapper entrepreneur William Ashley is said to have had a fur-business friend named Green, and the river may have been named for him. Other incidental bits:
• The Green River is longer than the upper portion of the Colorado, into which the Green flows. By rights, the upper Colorado should be seen as a tributary to the Green, and the Green should flow all the way to the Gulf of California.
• “Flocket” is the term used to refer to the temporary water pools in the sand dune area.
• “Seedskadee” (Wildlife Refuge) is a Crow Indian word that means “sage hen.”
• “Kemmerer” is pronounced “Kem’r”)
for Saturday, September 21
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Robert Ashley
Bob Ashley poses with school children at the Wyoming Hunting and Fishing Heritage Exposition 2002
. Robert Ashley is a teacher from Illinois.
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Thursday, September 26
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Robert Ashley
Kemmerer
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Robert Ashley
Stoddard Creek (F.S.) campground
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Robert Ashley
Meyer Hill
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Robert Ashley
Aspen Grove
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Robert Ashley
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Robert Ashley
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.