American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Tuesday, September 24
SURPRISE VISITOR
Dear America:
Field Report, Day 56

Richard Burton drove us in a brand new Honda Marine boat and motor across Flaming Gorge Reservoir. Yes, that is his real name. He just happens to be from Clovis, CA and his kids went through the Clovis Unified School District. He introduced himself to Lisa Ross, of the U.S. Forest Service and she looked skeptical, so I introduced myself as Clint Eastwood. Now she really looked skeptical. Ok, just because I have a face for radio, it doesn’t mean I don’t have feelings.

The cruise down Flaming Gorge was wonderful. The topography began to change as we headed south. The rocks became redder and the sides steeper. We slowly entered Horseshoe Canyon where the sides were very steep, the water a deep green, and the rocks varied. The horseshoe looped around to join the main part of the reservoir where we could proceed on at 35 plus mph.

We toured the Flaming Gorge Dam and witnessed a spectacular and playful display of fish catching at the base of the dam by four very cute river otters. The area is off-limits to fishing, so the fish were big and fast. The otters caught only two fish.

Our camp at Hoops Lake was blessed with a surprise visitor. A local oil field worker, with Merit Energy, who had been following our website found our camp. He wanted to tell us how much his family had been enjoying the journals and the trek. I felt honored by his presence. Joe Hickey, his wife Cindy and son George sat around the campfire, Joe cut most of the wood for us, and told of his long family history in the area. His family had been in the Daggit and Uinta area since 1829. His great great grandfather came out with Kit Carson. He was the first permanent white settler. They were the first fans to hunt us up.

for Tuesday, September 24
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Camping, Lewis & Clark style: Mike Murphy gets cozy in his buffalo robe near Clark Canyon Reservoir
Mike Murphy is a 48 year-old school teacher at Gettysburg Elementary. He works...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, January 22
Michael Murphy
Slide shows
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 15
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Michael Murphy
"It's Over."
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Michael Murphy
Joining Ceremony
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Michael Murphy
Last Backpack
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Michael Murphy
OIL & GAS SHOWCASE
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Michael Murphy
SURPRISE VISITOR
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Michael Murphy
Goodbye to Chris Pipkin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Michael Murphy
Wild Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Michael Murphy
Great Hosts
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Michael Murphy
Mines
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Michael Murphy
Trumpeter Swans
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michael Murphy
Bald Eagles & Fossils
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michael Murphy
Canoe
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Michael Murphy
Scaler Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michael Murphy
Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michael Murphy
TRAM
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Michael Murphy
Mountain Man
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Michael Murphy
Cliff Creek Falls
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Michael Murphy
Event Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michael Murphy
GPS saves the day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michael Murphy
Still raining
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Michael Murphy
Rain
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michael Murphy
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michael Murphy
Old Faithful
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Michael Murphy
Backpacking again
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Michael Murphy
River System
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michael Murphy
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Michael Murphy
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michael Murphy
Halfway
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Michael Murphy
Long Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
Buffalo Robe
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
ATV
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michael Murphy
No Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michael Murphy
Thanks to a student
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Michael Murphy
An easy day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michael Murphy
Students inspire teacher
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
More Horses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
Day 21
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michael Murphy
Back in the saddle
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michael Murphy
My brother shows up.
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 15
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 14. Tuesday, August 13. 12-14 miles.
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 13. Monday, August 12
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Michael Murphy
August 11
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Michael Murphy
Latest Update
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Michael Murphy
First six days
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Michael Murphy
Geology in Action
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Michael Murphy
First Journal Entry
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.