American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Friday, September 27
Joining Ceremony
Dear America:
Field Report, Day 59

Ted took us up trail through a burn to a point where we left the trail and proceeded
x-country for about three miles. We had to climb a ridge and follow the ridgeline up to nearly 11,200 feet, our highest point on the entire trek. The view of the High Uintas from this vantage point was spectacular. If we had stayed on the trail we would never had had the view. The trail, on private land, was far below us our ridge blocked the view. We then dropped down through a newly burned area (June 28-July 4) and back to the trail. We hiked quickly, once making the trail, to meet up with Dave, Bob V. and a reporter form the Outdoor Channel. We were driven to our ATV’s so we could make-up some time. We raced our ATV’s for a mile or so to Forest Service shower, our last chance to get cleaned up before meeting the Southern team at 4:00.

We had two more walk arounds, through aspens that were in blazing glory, on our way to Pine Valley Campground where the joining ceremony would take place.

At the Pine Valley Campground we met with all of the vehicles from both groups. Our support team returned to the campground about an hour after we did. They had to leave for most of the day so that the southern team could come in and set up their tents and camp. No one was supposed to see the other team until the 4:00 joining ceremony.

At around 3:30 I got to see my wife, Janet. It was the first time we’d seen each other since July 22nd. That’s a long, long time away from home. My mom, Rahlys, and mother-in-law, Miriam, also came to the closing ceremonies.

The joining ceremony had each team alongside a sagebrush field about 300 yards apart. The meeting point held a stage and an audience. At a signal we started towards each other. The four trekkers were in the front of each team, with the head of local agencies walking with us. Hugs and tears greeted us also at the joining.

Each team raised their American flag (each team carried one to put up each day in camp) and after some speeches we took them down and presented them to Lisa Madsen, Executive Director of the Public Lands Interpretive Association. Rob and I folded the flag for him to present. After more speeches, Lisa presented cherry wood hiking staffs to the northern team and walnut staffs to the southern team. This was truly a magical moment for me. I felt like I was on top of the world.

We enjoyed a catered bar-b-que dinner. Janet took our moms back to the Park City motel they were staying at. I spent some time in the dark packing seven boxes of stuff. I can’t believe how much equipment we were given by the various sponsors. I also had a large suitcase that I had left in SLC, in July, that I took back with me on the plane. The boxes arrived at my home the following week.

Before I slept, for the last time, in a Honda Pilot (this time with the back seats folded down for comfort) I sat around the campfire with members of the southern team. A nice finish for a long and emotional day.









for Friday, September 27
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Michael Murphy
Camping, Lewis & Clark style: Mike Murphy gets cozy in his buffalo robe near Clark Canyon Reservoir
Mike Murphy is a 48 year-old school teacher at Gettysburg Elementary. He works...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, January 22
Michael Murphy
Slide shows
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, January 15
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Michael Murphy
"It's Over."
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Michael Murphy
Joining Ceremony
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Michael Murphy
Last Backpack
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Michael Murphy
OIL & GAS SHOWCASE
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Michael Murphy
SURPRISE VISITOR
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Michael Murphy
Goodbye to Chris Pipkin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Michael Murphy
Wild Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Michael Murphy
Great Hosts
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Michael Murphy
Mines
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Michael Murphy
Trumpeter Swans
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Michael Murphy
Bald Eagles & Fossils
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Michael Murphy
Canoe
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Michael Murphy
Scaler Cabin
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Michael Murphy
Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Michael Murphy
TRAM
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Michael Murphy
Mountain Man
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Michael Murphy
Cliff Creek Falls
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Michael Murphy
Day Off
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Michael Murphy
Event Day
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Michael Murphy
GPS saves the day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Michael Murphy
Still raining
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Michael Murphy
Rain
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Michael Murphy
Yellowstone
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Michael Murphy
Old Faithful
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Michael Murphy
Backpacking again
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Michael Murphy
River System
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Michael Murphy
Birthday
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Michael Murphy
Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Michael Murphy
Halfway
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Michael Murphy
Long Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
Buffalo Robe
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Michael Murphy
ATV
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Michael Murphy
No Horses
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Michael Murphy
Thanks to a student
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Michael Murphy
An easy day
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Michael Murphy
Students inspire teacher
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
More Horses
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Michael Murphy
Day 21
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Michael Murphy
Back in the saddle
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Michael Murphy
My brother shows up.
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 15
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 14. Tuesday, August 13. 12-14 miles.
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Michael Murphy
Field Report, Day 13. Monday, August 12
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Michael Murphy
August 11
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Michael Murphy
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Michael Murphy
Latest Update
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Michael Murphy
First six days
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Michael Murphy
Geology in Action
   >> more...

•
Monday, July 22
Michael Murphy
First Journal Entry
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Back in School
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Michael Murphy
Mules
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.