American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Jan Nesset
Thursday, November 7
A Day At Earth Analytic's Home
View
Jan and Wetherbee review the trek route.

Jan and Wetherbee review the trek route.

View
Offices of Earth Analytic, the American Frontiers mappers.

Offices of Earth Analytic, the American Frontiers mappers.
Courtesy Jan Nesset

Earth Analytic, the Santa Fe, New Mexico-based company that specializes in geographic information systems, was of huge importance to the American Frontiers effort. Without Wetherbee Dorshow and his staff of “techies,” I am doubtful of the trekkers ability to pull off the huge task of crossing the country entirely on public lands.

But we did, thanks in large part to the mapping and GIS/GPS support provided by Earth Analytic (www.earthanalytic.com). Like the American Frontiers team, Earth Analytic volunteered its efforts. But unlike the American Frontiers team, Earth Analytic couldn't afford to spend 60 days away from its day-to-day business. As such, there were gaps when Earth Analytic could not be with the team. Overhead and salaries needed tending to back in Santa Fe so the gaps were necessarily spent satisfying clients there. When Earth Analytic was with us, however, we trekkers had a much easier time of navigating in the field by using the maps created in the tech trailer and the routes programmed into our GPS units.

There are a lot of people to thank – Wetherbee, William, Hollis, Brenda, Amanda, et al – all of whom we greatly appreciate.

Lisa Madsen, executive director of the Public Lands Interpretive Association, emailed to ask if I could travel to Santa Fe to help Wetherbee finalize the details of the southern route. The details of the route will be built into a map and a website so all interested people could have access to the day-by-day movement of the team.

Of course, I said, and made arrangements to travel yesterday and work with Earth Analytic today.

Departing yesterday at noon-15, I arrived in Santa Fe a quick four hours and 216 miles later. En route I traveled through the beautiful Carson National Forest. I’d been through the Forest twice earlier this year to get to Wheeler Peak, New Mexico’s highest mountain (13,161 feet). I had traveled to climb it but both times I was turned away: once by deep snows and inclement weather, and another time because the Forest was closed because of fire danger. I’m hoping the third time will be a charm.

But this trip, rather than heading east from a point south of Chama, I continued south toward Santa Fe, through an entirely new section of the Carson Forest. The Carson Forest has 1.5 million acres, of which 86,193 acres are wilderness, and 300 miles of recreational trails. It’s a great place to explore. The region’s hunting seasons are in full swing, so I’m surprised to see two large mule deer bucks chase does across the highway. But the rut makes bucks go crazy for love, so I’m not that surprised.

Arriving at a high spot just north of Santa Fe I got my first glimpse of the capital of New Mexico. I had to double-take because the town blends well with the forest. Its natural stealth comes from adobe, which has been used to construct the entire city. The city of 62,000 is also much larger than I had expected.

Wetherbee and the gang are doing well and busy as can be. Hollis and Brenda have moved on to other things but not William. He’s there, as well as Baranika and Eric. They all say hi to the American Frontiers gang.

Had I walked into the Earth Analytic building and seen plush offices I would have been disappointed. But the Earth Analytic work space is more of a place than a bunch of offices. The work stations are gathered to the west side of the space, which thanks to high ceilings can be described as a large garage. In fact, an old Chevy hot rod is sitting pretty in the middle of the area and the two Earth Analytic tech trailers are parked in an “L” shape at the east side of the space. The American Frontiers decals and posters still cling to the trailers. There’s a loft area with a bed. On the walls are cork boards, posters, a calendar with a photo of Bob Marley, and documents showing degrees and courses taken. In the corner of Wetherbee’s space is his walking stick, awarded to him at the Public Lands Day event in Salt Lake City.

And Wetherbee, the man who put so much into the American Frontiers effort, is undoubtedly in charge. His emails say he’s the Principal of his work force, but he’s also the man with the vision and smarts to keep everything and everybody on task. He’s an amazing man.

Despite the business of making money and moving forward with new ideas to progress his company, Wetherbee devoted the entire day to helping me finalize the southern route. He patiently showed me how to navigate the software program, a solution that allowed Wetherbee to work on other projects while I worked on the route. But whenever I needed him he gave me the attention I needed.

I had hoped that more of the data would have included the tracks (actual route) that I had diligently collected every day in the Garmin GPS units. There were some but not many, so I from memory had to go back through nearly every day of the 60-day Journey. I liked it, however, because it forced me to think of the team and how we negotiated our way from Point A to B. Sometimes I had to think of specific footsteps and how those footsteps crossed our public lands.

My mind crossed through the days and the particulars of those days like sand in a stream. My mind flowed from seeing Richard holding a part from the undercarriage of a vehicle to Cathy stepping onto the summit of Mt. McClede on to Julie, just a speck in the distance, swimming in Lake Powell. I could feel the sweat of the hot New Mexico deserts and the chill of the high Uinta nights. I felt rocks fill my shoes and my butt the saddle on Dolly, my ride through the Aldo Leopold Wilderness.

Meanwhile, the Earth Analytic team constructed a business letter. William and Baranika forged on with the requirements of the letter, and Wetherbee, like a conductor of a symphony, said yes and no, or to keep that thought but add this. That team, smart and creative, is going places.

At 5 p.m. it was time for me to go some place, too – home. I had the option of staying the night but I was perky and anxious to see my wife. There are some details to finish on the route but Wetherbee and I will do that via email. Thank God for the electronic age.

Just 3 ½ hours and 265 miles later, I arrived back home. I went west then north. I had no interest in retracing my route from Durango to Santa Fe. Gotta see new stuff! Four lanes and a zippy speed limit allowed me to arrive home faster despite the longer distance.

American Frontiers made history by moving efficiently across public lands, and in no small part because of Earth Analytic.

Thank you, Earth Analytic!

for Thursday, November 7
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Jan Nesset
An experienced outdoorsman, Jan Nesset knows that everyone has to pitch in at camp
A native of Montana and the third of four children, Jan Nesset joins American...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Wednesday, April 28
Jan Nesset
American Frontiers: Part II: Taking Stock
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 1
Jan Nesset
Canyonlands in December
   >> more...

•
Thursday, November 21
Jan Nesset
Snow Raspberry Bounty
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 17
Jan Nesset
The Bisti Badlands
   >> more...

•
Friday, November 15
Jan Nesset
Public Land Flows Through It
   >> more...

•
Thursday, November 7
Jan Nesset
A Day At Earth Analytic's Home
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, October 29
Jan Nesset
Slot Canyon Adventure
   >> more...

•
Monday, October 28
Jan Nesset
Some Things Never Change
   >> more...

•
Sunday, October 27
Jan Nesset
Back To The Wave
   >> more...

•
Monday, October 7
Jan Nesset
The Thing About Summits
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Jan Nesset
A New Beginning: National Public Lands Day
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Jan Nesset
Big Day of Sneak and Salvage
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Jan Nesset
History-Coated Strawberry
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Jan Nesset
The Last Of It
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Jan Nesset
Dinosaurlandia
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Jan Nesset
Over The Edge
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Jan Nesset
God Bless America
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Jan Nesset
Sometimes It's A Tough Life And We Get To Do It
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Jan Nesset
The Niche Near You
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Jan Nesset
Snow Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Jan Nesset
A Capitol Reef Bull's Eye
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Jan Nesset
A Lucky Rift
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Jan Nesset
Riding The Hog's Back
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Jan Nesset
Oh Rhythm My Rhythm
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Jan Nesset
Precious Images
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Jan Nesset
From the Hole to the Staircase
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Jan Nesset
Happy Days
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Jan Nesset
Do You Believe In Magic?
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Jan Nesset
The Bridge Over the River Why
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Jan Nesset
Public Lands And…Not You?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Jan Nesset
That Place So Special
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Jan Nesset
Just Looking To Have Some Fun – Be Dammed!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Jan Nesset
Do The Wave
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Jan Nesset
The Condors Are Coming!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Jan Nesset
Fires Are For The Birds
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Jan Nesset
Back On Top
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Jan Nesset
Perfection
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Jan Nesset
The Wheels Have Left The Tarmac
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Jan Nesset
Star Light
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Jan Nesset
The Traditional Connection
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 28
Jan Nesset
Onward and Upward On Mountain Bikes
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Jan Nesset
Checkerboard Kings and Queens
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Jan Nesset
Aldo Leopold As Ranch Manager
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Jan Nesset
A Story In Everything
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Jan Nesset
Fire In The Whole
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Jan Nesset
"Good Morning, Flagstaff!"
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Jan Nesset
Hoping For The Best
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Jan Nesset
Could Get Stinky
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Jan Nesset
Wheels Asunder
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Jan Nesset
Hurt Me, Thank You!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 18
Jan Nesset
Roads Aplenty and Rocks of Pleasure
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Jan Nesset
Of Dragons and Fire
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Jan Nesset
Motorcycles and the Zen of Route Mechanics
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Jan Nesset
Puzzled
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Jan Nesset
A Day Off, Sort Of
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Jan Nesset
A Delightful, Light Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Jan Nesset
Courage On Eagle Mountain
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Jan Nesset
Farewell
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Jan Nesset
My Aching Back In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Jan Nesset
Back In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Jan Nesset
In The Saddle
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Jan Nesset
Shut My Mouth!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Jan Nesset
Diversity and Song
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 5
Jan Nesset
An Unraveling
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Jan Nesset
A Bagged Peak
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 3
Jan Nesset
Lines On A Map
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Jan Nesset
GPS-Marriage Made In Heaven
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 1
Jan Nesset
Free Wheelin'
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Jan Nesset
An Excellent Start
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.