American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
Tuesday, December 3
Student's Letter
Tuesday, December 3, 2002
I'd like to share an email I received. I am really happy to see teachers using the website information in their classrooms. I hope to hear more from Anna.

My name is Anna, and I am a student at The Warrior Run Middle School, in
Pennsylvania. I am writing to you because, I have interest in your trek.
What do you think was the most troubling thing about your travel? What was
the most breathtaking scenery that you saw? Do you think it was a life
learning experience, and what all did you learn from it?
Thank you for taking the time to read this. I would greatly appreciate
your reply.


Hi Anna,
I have been thinking about your questions. They are very good.
You asked, “What do you think was the most troubling thing about your travel?”
I guess the first thing I think of is being less physically fit than my teammates. I am a real “city girl” with a desire for the outdoors. I trained before I left but not nearly enough to be really strong at the start. Jan, Julie and Richard had lots of outdoor experience in many different kinds of terrain. At the beginning of the trek we hiked through the Chihuahua Desert. It was very, very hot. I was very, very tired by the end of each day. When we went into the mountains I was not use to the high elevations because I live in Louisiana where we are barely above sea level. My teammates were incredibly patient with me and I am very thankful for that. As the trek went on I became stronger and it was a terrific feeling. One of my most proud possessions is the bandana Jan gave me at the banquet at the end of the trek. It reads:

Be it known to all those present that
Cathy Kiffe
Has demonstrated the skills
necessary to be certified
OFF THE PORCH
And is hereby granted all privileges
And freedoms that she has always had
But did not fully realize.

It was very special to me because I had really wanted to do the trek and struggled. Through the struggle I realized that I could do it. I want to share that experience with students who struggle and want them to know that they can eventually accomplish many things. It may not look like someone else’s accomplishment, but it can be done. I also hope to share with them to be the kind of people that my teammates were, helping and being kind and patient even when that wasn’t easy.
By the way, do you know what the phrase “off the porch” means and why Jan used it for this honor?

Question 2 “What was the most breathtaking scenery that you saw”
Each time I think about that, a different scene comes to my mind. One would be seeing the Grand Canyon for the first time at sunrise, or places along the way throughout the Grand Canyon. Another would be looking down after scrambling over very rocky terrain for the first time to the top of Mt. McCleve and seeing all around from the highest point in the area---a very exhilarating experience. Another would be a snowstorm rolling down the mountains as we rode ATVs on the Great Western Trail up the mountains. Another, the beautiful sandstone around Escalate and the Grand Staircase.
I could go on and on and on.

Do you think it was a life
learning experience, and what all did you learn from it?

Yes, Anna, it was an incredible life changing experience. I think I learned we have a country that holds many treasures for many people and their many interests. The lands are to be embraced and cherished. They reflect the diversity of the people of the United States. Learning about the history connected to public lands can enrich our lives immeasurably. I think in experiencing the land we can learn very valuable things about ourselves and that is a gift to ourselves and to others. We can be stronger more resilient people who have more to offer throughout all of our lives.

Now I have some questions for you. How did you find out about the trek? What do you think caused you have an interest in the trek and finding out more about it ?

I really look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you so much,
Catherine (Cathy) Kiffe


for Tuesday, December 3
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: South
Catherine Kiffe
A new look for the teachers lounge: Cathy K gets suited up to go riding the dual-sport motorcycles.
Cathy is a Homebound Teacher for students in grades Kindergarten through 12,...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Sunday, January 5
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Sunday, December 8
Catherine Kiffe
More Students Ask Questions
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, December 3
Catherine Kiffe
Student's Letter
   >> more...

•
Monday, November 25
Catherine Kiffe
Gifts from Long Ago
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 10
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...

•
Sunday, November 3
Catherine Kiffe
Using the Pictures
   >> more...

•
Friday, October 18
Catherine Kiffe
Rush, rush, rush
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, October 9
Catherine Kiffe
Home Again
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 28
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 27
Catherine Kiffe
Together Again
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 26
Catherine Kiffe
Packing Up
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 25
Catherine Kiffe
Across Strawberry Reservoir
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
The Last Hike
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 24
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Dinosaurs (or what’s left!)
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 23
Catherine Kiffe
Accident
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 20
Catherine Kiffe
Another Glorious Day on the trail.
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable---a place to learn
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Catherine Kiffe
A thrilling ride!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 17
Catherine Kiffe
Fishlake National Forest
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Catherine Kiffe
Come for a 4 Wheel Drive
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Swirls
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Catherine Kiffe
Invasive Weeds
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Catherine Kiffe
I Love This Land
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Catherine Kiffe
Memorial Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Catherine Kiffe
Special Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Catherine Kiffe
How We Connect
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Catherine Kiffe
A Visit with Bill then hee,hee, hee
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Catherine Kiffe
Wilderness Explained
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 6
Catherine Kiffe
A River Ride and Dam View
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Catherine Kiffe
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Catherine Kiffe
Headlamps
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Catherine Kiffe
What's Roaring?
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Catherine Kiffe
The River
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Catherine Kiffe
Beginning the Walk Down
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Catherine Kiffe
Watch that Step
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Catherine Kiffe
Passion and Information
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Catherine Kiffe
" Listen to All"
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Catherine Kiffe
Trees, more or less?
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 23
Catherine Kiffe
Dirt and Treasure and Sharing
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Catherine Kiffe
Be ready to change
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Biscuits
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Catherine Kiffe
Another Short Day
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Catherine Kiffe
A Short Day
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
Questions
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Catherine Kiffe
A Great Day
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Catherine Kiffe
A Scorched Land
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Catherine Kiffe
What? 30 miles??? Yes!
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 15
Catherine Kiffe
I Like It!
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 14
Catherine Kiffe
Life changing
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Day "off"
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 13
Catherine Kiffe
Step Back In Time
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
Take A Deep Breath
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Catherine Kiffe
A Little Bit of Water
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Catherine Kiffe
A Different Look At Burned Areas
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Catherine Kiffe
Take a Leap
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 9
Catherine Kiffe
Delightful Things
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 8
Catherine Kiffe
Not a Buggy Ride
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Ready for "hosses"
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 7
Catherine Kiffe
Roundtable
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Catherine Kiffe
"Bag a Peak" and Fight with a Bush!
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 4
Catherine Kiffe
Busy, busy!
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Catherine Kiffe
Third Day of the Trek
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Catherine Kiffe
4 Wheeling
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 30
Catherine Kiffe
Kickoff Events in DC
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Catherine Kiffe
First day...
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, May 1
Catherine Kiffe
Public lands in Mississippi
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
More Student Questions
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, December 31
Catherine Kiffe
Gray and Beautiful
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2018, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.